A Year Ago Today


Advertisement
Published: June 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Closer to HomeCloser to HomeCloser to Home

From our Memorial Day Weekend backpacking adventure in Canyonlands National Park, Utah. It was good to break out the packs again!
It's been a year since the frantic readying quite abruptly became the incredible doing. Since I had this surreal feeling that I was stepping off of a very high cliff and hanging in the air on nothing. Not quite trusting it to be real, but moving along anyway. That's how it felt one year ago today waiting at the airport. All the preparations were made and momentum carried us on. Carried us through the six months and out the other side. Carried me all the way around the world and back. To One Year Later. Relentlessly.

I’m back now, and I'm happy. I have a great life here at home. I am marrying the best person I’ve ever met in less than three months. I’ve got a good job in a great city. I’m living in a place where I can run on the beach after work and anything I need is just a few minutes away by foot. I get to see my family and friends whenever I want and all the Mexican food at my fingertips is certainly not taken for granted.

Despite all of this, I can’t help but be a little blue today. I can’t help but think that just one year ago I had stretched before me the adventure of a lifetime. Six months to myself and Masa to see the world. Feel it, taste it, hear it and smell it. Now a whole year has passed and I still find it hard to believe that I’m on the other side of it all. I’m still feeling the squeeze of longing and wanderlust. Today I miss it. A lot.

But on most other days I know there is more to life. And believe it or not, even though it may sound totally cheesy… we’re always standing on the brink of an adventure of a lifetime. Sometimes it’s just a lot more obvious. But doesn’t the challenge (and a lot of the fun) lie in finding what is not obvious?

I know we'll continue the adventure we started a year ago. We'll spend the rest of our lives together making sure we do just that. Thanks for sharing our trip. Thanks for reading the blog (or browsing the photos). Thanks for the comments that seemed to appear when I was most homesick. And thanks for the welcome we've had since we've been back.

Until Next Time...

Advertisement



17th June 2007

Tnaks for sharing with us, I was always looking foward to reading your comments, they were so alive that made us belive were also participating with you. Thanks for being so great both of you. With love Marelly
17th June 2007

Memories of My Arm
Thanks for sharing your thoughts. It's great to get that perspective a year later. Kinda reminds me of how great my arm was a year ago, and how now those are just cherished memories. But on a more serious note, it was exactly ten years ago from right now that I was spending a summer backpacking through Europe. 10 years...and it still seems like yesterday. I miss the great times, but I know I'll never forget them - neither will you and gimpy (masa). PS - you work in an ok city, but the grass is always greener... ;)

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 17; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb