Adventures in babysitting


Advertisement
Published: July 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After almost completing a long list of projects, my pregnant sister in law became very dizzy. Whether it was the rapidly rising southern California heat or the paint fumes, no one knew but after several hours at the local hospital the doctor prescribed home and lots of rest.

My brother having gone back to school was in his last week of finals for the summer session which left me babysitter of choice. I was not very qualified, but I was free and already in the house so much to the frustration of my former boss, I delayed working on my required performance evaluation and entered the world of my 3 and a half (as she would have me note) niece.

It had been a very long time since I had visited this world but with my capable young guide I gingerly stepped out of the adult world into that of the make-believe. She started off wisely with a Peter Pan video selection, reminding me that being an adult was not as important as remaining young at heart. Having passed the Peter Pan test with flying colors it was on to art projects with the all important glitter glue. We made Mommy get well cards in every shape and size to be delivered once she felt well enough for visitors. Once done, she stepped back and looked me up and down with a serious eye…..determining that I was ready to handle more advanced childhood regression. We took Mommy’s nail polish and painted our toes (and I mean toes not toenails) each a different color. Staying in the lines was not important. We let the dogs lick our ice cream bowls clean, only if we promised not to tell mommy, Aunt K’s idea. We dressed up dolls, stuffed animals and the dogs. We sang songs, read books and finally, exhausted, collapsed in bed at midnight.

I awoke around 6 AM to long blonde hair and a blur of pink about 5 inches from my face, my contacts not yet in.

“Aunt K you slept with me!” She screamed with delight.

An alarm clock that smiles. Not bad but a little early. How do you set this thing?

A few hours later when I finally got a chance to check on Mommy, she was lying in bed on her side, surrounded by pillows. Her eyes half shut she looked at me. “Is Maddie being ok?” She asked weakly.

“She is great. We are having a blast.”

Then she looked at me, squinting “What’s that on your head?”

I reached up to feel my hair matted in the tiara glitter headband I had fallen asleep in along with the rhinestone “birthday” necklace I was still wearing around my neck. I was a mess.

“I haven’t showered, changed or gotten more than about 4 hours of sleep in the last 48 hours but other than that were good.”

“Aunt K! Let’s get some candy!” a demanding little voice called from downstairs.

“Call if you need anything.” I said while quickly and quietly closing the door, going downstairs to check on the candy monster.

The next few days were a blur of glitter, books, art projects, matching games, counting candy (not eating it) and the ever present…..WHAT? ……WHY?.......WHY?.......WHY?..........WHY, Aunt K?!, WHY?

When Mommy and Daddy were finally back on the scene, Shawna said while looking at me with a questioning expression “Maddie just told me there was no gravity in the house.”

“No…..no….no gravity in space.” I said to clarify.

“I know that, but she’s three!”

My brother a few hours later “Maddie just informed me that not all babies come from mommies tummies, that some are adopted. “

“What can I say? It came up.” I said in my defense.

“How?”

“HOW?.....WHAT?.......WHY?.....WHY Aunt K, WHY?” “I cracked under the pressure!”




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 19; qc: 92; dbt: 0.0972s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb