Now we wait


Advertisement
Published: February 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was not an easy day. I was well rested, but suffered(and still sufffering) from what seems to be an impending cold.

As you have already read (or not) I had my interview at 2 today. I woke up at 9 to rain and a throbbing headache. Nothing a shower won't fix I thought, and I was right.

I danced myself into a great mood, like always and ignored the headache.

Those who know me also know that very few items in my wardrobe are interview appropriate. (Those who don't know me -well, you wouldn't understand). So, I spent
a substantial amount of time searching for those dress pants I used to wear back when I attended church regularly (a bit tight now) and that interview blouse I "borrowed" from Tiffany when I applied to Apple.

Pleased with my appearance, but still nervous as hell, I left home around 1230 for the local smoke shop to purchase a pack of Diarium*, the special kind. I was not
carded. That is the first time that that has ever happened to me! It must have been either my apparel or my" can do" attitude that screamed "OF AGE"

At any rate, as I arrived around 1245 it began to pour rain.In the tizzy I left my house in I forgot my umbrella. My heels were painful and puddles where relentlessly
omnipresent. My cigarrettes did little to assauge my nervousness.

But the other applicants did! When I arrived I met some really sweet and amusing girls. Samantha, Alejandra, Jessica, and Maxine. We confided in each other our fear and anxiety and conducted faux interviews until Alejandra was called into the room by Julie, the graduate assistant of Juliet (funny!)

Those interviewed before me put me at ease. Everyone came out feeling good about how it went.

My interview could have gone better, but I am certain that I expressed clearly my goals and seriousness about study abroad. There major concerns appeared to be that of financing the trip and of my preparedness to leave home for so long.

I was sure to discuss freely all the research I had done on the subject of renting pisos, independent living in general and scholarships. I worked the room well, to say the least.

I appeared confident, mature, and goal-oriented. I made the interviewers smile, laugh, and stop asking me questions about money. I even made it a point to end with a memorable gesture. (I won't say what it is but, when I am accepted I will attribute it to this!)

Afterwards I attended L.U.C. I.A , the Spanish club at CSUN with Alejandra and Sam, the treasurer.

Then I practiced singing with Ramon.

Now It is time to go to sleep, but I will dream of Spain and in 6 short weeks I will receive the acceptance letter.

But I shall not be idle even If I do not update. I will be applying for scholaraships and selecting that perfect passport picture. I wonder if I can take them a Sugoi Life.

Thanks for Reading!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb