Things to do before you travel to Asia


Advertisement
Published: January 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I'm planning a world trip. Here are some tips I'm listing for anyone interested in making a similar trip.

1. Immunizations - There are places that specialize in international immunizations. I went to Passport Health in Los Angeles.

2. Gear - I've had two major long-term traveling experiences. The first was lugging around a huge backpack in Europe for 3 months. The other was a roller bag I used as a business traveler for 8 years. This time I decided to combine the two and go with a wheeled backpack from REI. The nice thing about this is that is has a daypack that attaches. I opted for the 22" because it is lighter, carry-on, and will force me to consolidate. Also, you should pick up a wired luggage lock so people can't get into your bag. (Be sure to make sure you have the right size). It's worth checking for these things online. After I bought my bag at REI I found it online for $100 less. So, I'll be taking the first one I bought back to REI.

3. Travel book - I went with Lonely Planet Southeast Asia for the first part of my trip. Wikitravel.org is really good too, if you don't want to buy the books. In Europe I used Let's Go!, but I couldn't find a current one for Southeast Asia. Although you can get by on a used one, the latest will have updated phone numbers, websites, ect... You don't want to show up in the middle of the night and take a cab to a part of town you've never been only to find out that your accomidations are out of business.

4. Flights - With so much compitition you can usually get a good deal if you look around. I recommend starting with places like Expedia or Cheapoair, then look at the actual airline's website so see if you can get a better deal. In Asia a popular carrier is Air Asia, Dragonair, and Tigerairways.

5. Visas - Most countries in Asia that require a visa allow you to get them upon arrival. However, China (multiple entry 1 year $140) and Vietnam (single entry - $110 same day expedited in San Francisco) both said you need one before you arrive (I know you can do Vietnam online and pick it up upon arrival). Your travel book should say whether or not you need a visa. For the latest refer to the Deptartment of State's website. Also, it is good to register with the Department of State to let them know in what country you are. The Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP) is where you can fill out your information to get updates. You can download the iPhone app as well.

6. Communication - Back in 1999 when I was traveling through Europe I had to use calling cards whenever I arrived and checked my email at internet cafés. This time I plan to travel using my iPhone. I'll get AT&T's international preferred rates and maybe a small data plan for emergencies. But for the most part I plan on making calls over wifi using Skype or Google Voice. For Google Voice you'll need to get a dedicated number before you leave the US. If you have an iPhone you should definitely get the apps for airlines/hotels you like to use. Some good apps I'm uingt are: Skype, Fly Delta, SPG, Hyatt, Kayak, AirAsia, SmartTraveler, Vaccine Record, Hotels.com, Flashlight, Converter, WebMD, Google Translate, iTriage, Soundhound (incase you hear a cool song you can't remember), Facebook, and iBooks.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0226s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb