"Wear closed-toed shoes."


Advertisement
Published: September 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Our Ship Has ArrivedOur Ship Has ArrivedOur Ship Has Arrived

Hello, Paradise!
The next morning we were awakened by what sounded like an announcement being piped into the ship. I initially thought how cool it was that the Queen Mary carried its authenticity through to making cabin announcements like on a working cruise ship. Come to find out (as I came out of my sleeping fog) it was the Carnival Paradise, docked and trying to kick this weekend’s passengers off the boat ... also known as debarkation. And boy, was she loud about it.

Woo Hoo, our ship has arrived. So, up and Aft we went.

Hello, Paradise!

We spent some time up on deck taking photos of both the Queen Mary and Paradise. Behind us was a set of curious doorways. Hmmm, I wonder what’s through those doors? We have time to find out ... let’s explore.

Now would be the time to explain the “Wear closed-toed shoes” idea. For weeks (if not months) prior to our cruise, I would tell hubby we need to remember to bring closed-toed shoes because they were required for the Behind the Fun Tour. I think I said it so often more for myself than for him because he always brings sneakers.
QM AftQM AftQM Aft

What's through those doors? We would soon find the Isolation Ward.
I on the other hand usually only bring various forms of sandals on a cruise. So, not wanting to be shut out of this tour, I had to keep reminding myself (out loud to everyone around) to bring closed-toed shoes.

So, on this special embarkation morning ... I of course was wearing open-toed sandals.

Stepping in and over the bottom of the metal doorway, I misjudged my stepping and BAM smashed my toe on a corner of the metal. Yes, it hurt. But, I’m not a big baby so I ventured on and through to the Isolation Ward.

The Isolation Ward was where foreign passengers would hang out until they were deemed healthy. It was also a place where passengers with their 1930s diseases would hang out until they were well. It was also here where I realized my bashed toe was also bleeding. Good thing I was in the Isolation Ward.

Maybe we should think about heading off this ship.






Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

QM AftQM Aft
QM Aft

Rod and I spent some time up on deck taking photos of both the Queen Mary and Paradise.
QM Isolation WardQM Isolation Ward
QM Isolation Ward

Watch out for the bottom of these metal doorways ... they pack a punch if you misjudge your footing.
QM Isolation WardQM Isolation Ward
QM Isolation Ward

Foreign passengers would be sent to the Isolation Ward until they were deemed healthy.
The Best Cup of Coffee Ever!The Best Cup of Coffee Ever!
The Best Cup of Coffee Ever!

I had a great morning vanilla latte from the Starboard Bakery on the Queen Mary.
Queen MaryQueen Mary
Queen Mary

The outer decks were cool and the views fabulous. What's that I see peeking through the lifeboats? Ahhh, the Carnival Paradise!
Queen Mary RopesQueen Mary Ropes
Queen Mary Ropes

I was fascinated by the ropes on this ship.
Queen MaryQueen Mary
Queen Mary

An early morning row of visitors!


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb