Los Angeles strikes again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » LAX
November 28th 2010
Published: November 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

lax01lax01lax01

LA at dawn.
Well, I shouldn't really be surprised and I wasn't. Typing from the Marriot LAX at the expense of Air New Zealand. Auckland airport was closed while we flew over here - a power cut knocked it out and, without any lights on the runway, no flights got in last night so we're in a backlog clearing situation. Does mean I'll miss both the original connecting flight to Queenstown and tomorrow morning's one so it looks like ANZ will be putting me up in Auckland tomorrow before a flight down Tuesday morning.

All in all, should only lose a day but I do feel a bit dirty every time I'm forced to stay in the states. I should listen to myself more - I have vowed many a time never to do LAX again so it's my own fault. Five very impressive queues this time...

Ho hum. Try to get a few hours kip now and hope I can get to NZ tomorrow even if it is only as far as Auckland.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

lax02lax02
lax02

same plane, different day...


28th November 2010

Ashes
To make up for it at least England's second innings achieved 309-1
28th November 2010

US airports...
Hello Sir, yes US immigration officers, US courtesy gratuity, makes me feel abused every time also... having said this if you have not allready next time, think about mount whitney it is truly amazing Yosemite etc...
6th December 2010

Glim Lights
They just don't try hard enough these days. I've landed on Glim lighhts. They could have put a few barrels filled with kerosene along the runway and thrown in a match:-)

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb