The Road Calls


Advertisement
Published: July 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Not so New BaruNot so New BaruNot so New Baru

The machine we hope to hell gets us up north...
Just to update everyone... we made it back alive. While as you all know I only made it to Costa Rica Barton made it as far as Chile, the original goal. So for all of you who doubted us, and understandably many of you did, here is another chance to jump on the bandwagon. The few months I have spent back in the good ole USA have involved painted bookshelves for a free trade market in Evanston, IL, and going to a ridiculous amount of White Sox Baseball games. As for Barton, well he hadn't been back for more than 72 hours when I half-jokingly made reference to a possible summer road trip to Alaska. Armed with a new, not so new Subaru a new pipedream was born. Fearing the real world like the plague that it is, the wheels started spinning in our heads. As we speak Barton's home is a coach in the apartment that he has just yielded to fellow mad man cameron curtis. I have been staying at the wonderfully comfy and welcoming home of Dominic Afzali, he of the Jabba the Dutch, internationall traveling, sheevas throwing Afzalis. Tommorow I move into a new place in Hollywood.
The Prophet Road BeckonsThe Prophet Road BeckonsThe Prophet Road Beckons

And who can resist it?
But like the mad rolling stone I have become no sooner will I pay my rent than I am out the door. The plan is to head up to Yosemite, do a few days of backpacking with my brother Matt, and then set off, NORTH.
The great road, that Alaskan Highway calls, screaming out to us in all its glory. That great prophet road beckons us, and we just can't refuse it. The distance in miles may far surpass last winter's southern run, but we plan on hauling ass in as little as 2 weeks, to conquer that very road. I invite you all to join us, and doubt very seriously how many internet cafes we will see on the way. I will do my best you all informed, and to allow you to live vicariously through your favorite road trippers. And for anyone who has advice or a semi clean couch along the way, drop a line.
See you all down that road...
here we go again....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb