Redwood Forest


Advertisement
Published: July 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


June 26, Friday

On southbound along Route 101 the Oregon coast is full of huge rocks, water just cascading in, over and around the sea stacks (huge rocks sticking up out of the water just offshore) it's beautiful. The road meanders from right along the edge of the ocean cliffs to a bit inland making hairpin turns deep inside the ravines that lead the streams to the ocean. The only trouble is occasional slow moving "tourists" that refuse to utilize the many "pull-outs". Not that I'd EVER pass on a double yellow .... but..... We crossed into California and at the Humboldt Redwoods State Park we pulled off highway 101 to follow the Giant Tree Avenue for many miles, mostly because I had no idea where the campgrounds were located in this park. Eventually, quite by accident, we found one with sites available near Weott, CA and set up amongst some huge trees. I had not fueled up very gracefully for my first attempt with the "ecologically correct" gas nozzles, and consequently I sprayed gasoline on my jacket and gloves. So, after setting up the tent, I made a run south to the laundromat and did a wash-job on my stuff. Even the extra rinse and two wash cycles still left a touch of scent, but I'm sure that will wear off eventually. I just hope I don't get any "burn holes" in the stuff.

June 27, Saturday

When we got to Legget we left Route 101 and started tracking down Route 1. This is the oceanside route along this part of the coast. California isn't quite as rock strewn as Oregon, but it's still beautiful. We pulled over for the night at a private campground at Ocean Cove, CA. It was cheap, and our site had a nice view of the ocean sunset over the tops of the RV's closer to the waterline. All the State Parks were full for the weekend. This was another great day of riding.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb