Costa Rica: 2 weeks to go!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Hemet
July 29th 2010
Published: July 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This is my first entry into my journal here. I'm not much of a blogger historically, so this will be a new experience for me to add to all the other new experiences I am about to have in Costa Rica. Be prepared, I don't tend to have much of a "filter" when it comes to expressing myself, so you may read some interesting things as this progresses...

I am full of so many feelings and thoughts as I prepare to take my first trip out of the country in over 20 years (not counting Mexico). What's been really great is the level of acceptance I have for the whole experience, whether it be a pleasant or an unpleasant one. Never before have I felt this level of openness for life. It's refreshing.

I'm getting prepared for my TEFL course in Quepos by studying and doing a lot of research. Some of the other blogs I've read by people who recently did the course were sort of disturbing. It seems like many of them didn't do their due diligence in preparing for the course, and that resulted in their being stressed out and pressed for time while in Quepos. I'm not going to end up in that boat. What's really interesting is that the school provides an entire prep course ahead of time. It gives you all the specifics of what you need to know, hell, it even gives you the framework for the lesson plans. Apparently some people choose not to utilize those resources, which I find unfortunate because it's obvious to me that the school took some time preparing them.

I've already been to the local teaching supply store to pick up books and supplies for my trip. I don't intend to be unprepared in the slightest. By getting my grammar reviewed now, and having basic lesson plans in place when I arrive in Quepos, I'll be able to go to the beach while others stress over work. At least that's the idea. We'll see if it works out that way.

Today I'll be shopping for some light-weight khakis because mine are all too heavy for the tropics. The last thing I want is sweaty junk while trying to teach English. What's nice though, is the option to wear sandals (which I will be doing constantly) since I really hate shoes. Already picked up some golf shirts for teaching practice since those will help me stay comfy too.

I had a thought last night that maybe I should bring some pieces of screen with me. A few people mentioned that lots of bugs came in through unscreened windows and so I think having a couple pieces that I can use if need be is a good plan.

Well, that's all for now. I think I'll go shower and get the day started. Until next time, go well friends.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb