One Week Update and other trivia


Advertisement
Published: May 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We completed our first week as camp ground hosts. We work really hard 5 days a week. At 8 am I walk around the park and look for unregistered vehicles. I then turn in the night papers to the Kiosk. At 7pm I go the Kiosk and get the night registration papers. At sunset, I make a generator check. Generators must be off at 8pm. I then lock the entrance gate but not the exit gate. I then lock the day use parking lot gate and day use bathrooms. Jan registers after hour’s campers and sells firewood. Other then occasional questions that is it! We have a radio to call for help. Really tough duty.

We haven’t received any mail so far. We put in a change of address before we left but Curt, my neighbor across the street, called and said that mailman rang his doorbell and asked where we had gone because he had lost the change of address form. I then tried twice to put in an internet change and I guess the second time it worked.

We also had a medication problem. Before we left, we called the prescription company OptumRx and told them to
IMG_20130504_160846_078IMG_20130504_160846_078IMG_20130504_160846_078

Growing Tomatoes
mail my restless legs medicine to my son’s address in LA. It never showed up. OptumRx mailed it to our Colorado Springs address. Sometimes a post office will not forward prescriptions drugs and so far we have not received any forwarded mail. When I was down to 7 days dose, OptumRx express mailed another to the campground address. It finally came was I was down to 3 days.

The ranger told me that they will probably pay for the damaged window because the grounds crew was near my motorhome with the weed whacker when the crash happened.

This is a very foggy place but last Friday and Saturday were perfect days. Also our first day off, Tuesday 5/7 was a perfect day and we drove down the coast to Santa Cruz. More on that trip later.

We have a lot of Europeans staying in the park. Most times that we see a rental motorhome, they are rented by Germans. One German family got a great rental deal. They picked up the motorhome in Chicago and paid $600 for three weeks with the stipulation that the deliver the RV to the dealer in California. The normal rental price is $1200 per week.

The beaches here are beautiful but very dangerous. There are lots of surfers. The water is really cold and there are rip currents often. The sand is very soft and hard to walk on but it is one of my favorite things to do.

I have internet access through my ATT cell phone which has a limit of 5GB for $50 per month. This is not really a lot, so we go to McDonalds, about 1 mile away, most mornings and get on the internet

Advertisement



9th May 2013

fun?
So I can't tell from your description... are you enjoying your time so far or not so much?

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb