Read me!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Folsom
November 12th 2007
Published: November 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Things are going well. I have been busy balancing work and my free time. My free time usually consists of sleeping, playing dominoes and planning our Thanksgiving adventure, but mostly sleeping. If I stay up past 10pm, that is late for me. We have been continuing with our trainings on a daily basis and as time passes we get antsier and antsier with anticipation for the near future when we will be in Mississippi actually doing work.

Last Wednesday was a good change of pace as my team got to go out on a day project. Our day was split in half. Before lunch we were working with Progressive. They are celebrating their 70th anniversary, so in honor of that they are planting 70 trees in 70 cities around the country. We got to help the progressive workers plant trees in a local park in Sacramento. Our main task was lifting the trees as the Progressive workers were not insured to do that; go figure. It was fun. The afternoon was not as much fun for me. We ended up going to a zoo to do some routine maintenance work. The only reason why I didn’t enjoy it so much
Spider MonkeySpider MonkeySpider Monkey

Me hanging from a branch in the Spider Monkey Cage that I arranged while working at the zoo.
was because there were chickens and peacocks roaming around, not caged up, everywhere. It was very traumatic for me and I was quite edgy all day. Maybe the task was helping me overcome my fear of big birds, or maybe God just wanted a good laugh.

Last Sunday some friends and I went on a day trip to Napa. We tasted some wines at a local winery. I learned 2 things on that trip. First, I learned that I like cheap wine. Secondly, I learned that Champagne is only Champagne if it is made in Champagne France, Champagne not made in Champagne France is called “Sparkling Wine.” Napa was very pretty.

Monday night Sandra, her roommate and I drove 2 hrs after work to San Francisco to see a Hanson concert. Not only did I get to go to a Hanson concert in San Fran but I also get to live with my teammates harassing me about going to a Hanson concert. Last Monday was a very long day as it started at 5am and didn’t end until 2am and then had to be up at 5am the next morning. I suppose the concert was worth all the negative consequences that came with going to it.

Ladder runs are fun. It’s when you have a line of 20 or so people running and the person at the back of the line has to sprint to the front, when they get to the front the next person sprints up to the front in a continuous pattern for the duration of the run. I don’t think I’m getting big muscles but the next time you see me feel free comment on how strong I’m looking, it will make me feel better about waking up before the sun to exercise ;-)

This is all my brain can think of at the moment to write.
Love and Miss you.
-N


Advertisement



12th November 2007

Pancake, All I could think about with your zoo story was you in South Africa and me trying to protect you from the chickens in that township! I'm sorry you had a traumatic day. Call me if you would like some therapy, since that is what I'm doing now for school. I'm glad to hear that things are going well and that you got to see Hanson! I'm sure you and Sandra were like 13 year old girls :-) Miss you. I'll send mail soon... I promise! -Syrup
12th November 2007

Glad they let you out.
I'm glad they let you out of the monkey cage and didn't make you stay there. Could you bring one of those trees for our front yard, please? It will certainly mean more to you planting trees than it would have before the Oct surprise storm last year. We're so happy you and Sandra have found your nich. We are very proud of both of you. Keep those blogs coming. Love and prayers, Your second Mom
13th November 2007

Who's chicken?
Ok, you're not afraid of fish guts poured over your head but a corp. symbol (peacock) is unnerving................????

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb