Insert Cheesy Conclusion Title...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Cypress
June 14th 2011
Published: June 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

At long last, we made it home. Back to our real homes, back to our real lives. For the two and a half months we were on the road, we lived in an almost fictitious world of adventure. “Home” was wherever we laid our heads down for the night. And the “point” of life was simply travel. For a brief moment, we lived without deadlines, obligations, or demands. We were free from the stress of trying to further our academic careers or make money. And let me to tell you, it felt good.
We saw some of the world’s most treasured landmarks. The Eiffel Tower, the Hanging Houses, the Leaning Tower of Pisa, David, the Cinque Terre, the beaches of Greece, Mont St. Michel, the Masai Mara… The list goes on and on. The visual and the ensuing emotion are both so vivid- the shear excitement of seeing our first lion on safari, watching the Masai children’s eyes light up over balloons, or turning the corner and catching our first glimpse of the Matterhorn. Sometimes the trip reminds me of those old MasterCard commercials. Plane tickets: $$$$$. Lodging: $$$$. Food: $$$. Transportation: $$. Activities: $. Just about any experience on the trip: PRICELESS.
Still, the true beauty of a trip like this is that it paves the way to experiences we’d never take advantage of at home. We watched sunsets and sunrises. We stared at art and architecture and even tried to think about how it made us “feel.” We went for walks just for the sake of being outside and took the long route just to see something new. We had picnics in parks. We paid to walk through gardens. We rode public transportation. We tried new food. Even though it was mostly catch phrases, we practiced new languages. We talked to strangers and walked through the bad part of town. No matter how much we planned and created itineraries, it’s funny now that the most lasting memories are of things we can do while at home, but don’t often take advantage of.
Since I’ve been home, people have asked if it has been hard adjusting. The answer is no. I loved the adventure and wish I had a bigger bank account to keep the dream alive, but that’s just it. That was my adventure and this is my life. I am a better person for having gone on the trip and the memories are amongst my most valuable possessions. The experience made me more appreciative of the life I have and helped remind me of the way life should be lived. At the end of it all, I have lived through something truly amazing and I am excited to take those experiences home with me. I do have one complaint about being home. I can’t stand the amount of time spent indoors and behind a computer screen. I didn’t realize it on the trip, but just being outside in the “fresh” air ( I use quotes because some of the European cities are just a bit polluted) instead of watching TV or surfing the net is so much more relaxing and rewarding.
From start to finish, the trip was beyond incredible. We wrote this blog for two reasons. First, we wanted a place to essentially keep a journal of the trip. More importantly, we wanted to share it with all of you. Thank you for keeping up with us and for the awesome comments. It was surprising difficult to keep up on a blog and all the positive comments we received really kept us excited about the blog.
I’d like to close with one final shout out to “my traveling companion.” Lauren, sharing the whole adventure with you made the two and a half months what it was- perfect. I cannot wait for our future travels! (One final note- I won the Skip-Bo competition 18-15)
Thanks again to all of you folks- happy travels!




Advertisement



15th June 2011

Keep On Truckin'
Thanks for including me on your blog -- I enjoyed reading about your travels. Lauren, please let me know what's next for you, espcially any news about medical school. Hi to sis and the family . . .

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb