Rise and Grind


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Carlsbad
April 10th 2014
Published: April 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

As always, it has been too long. Which in this case is a good thing, as it means I've been busy! It has now been exactly three months since I arrived in California, so let me catch you up to speed...

I moved in, furnished my room, had a job interview at SEA LIFE, joined a gym, landed a seasonal job at SEA LIFE, decided to learn Spanish, started working, started working out, started to hang out with people from work outside of work, got bumped up to a part-time (read: permanent) position at SEA LIFE, started running again, continued practicing my Spanish, planned lots of social gatherings with co-workers, and most recently, applied for and landed an educator position at SEA LIFE.

Basically my days are spent alternating between work, exercise, beer, and sleep- and maybe some reading and household chores when time permits. But I guess that's what life is supposed to look like when you're 24. I'm in a strange spot, mentally and financially. I think most people in their mid-twenties can relate, yet I feel like I can't describe it all without coming off as ungrateful or entitled (and we have all heard how my
My daily routineMy daily routineMy daily routine

1. Play with sea stars 2. Love my job
generation is so entitled). There are so many positives in my life and yet I still feel like I'm missing something.

shockingly, I believe the missing link is travel. While my most common gripe is that I'm not making enough money, I'm actually living quite well. I don't have many expenses, and I manage to get all my necessities covered from month to month with a little leftover for fun. But the savings are not so substantial that I feel like, if needed (and with me its always needed), I can escape for a bit. I have no leftover money for ADVENTURE. I won't let such a trivial concern get me down just yet. I've begun to think outside the box- and inside the state. I'm compiling a list of all the places in California and neighboring regions I want to explore. I'm going to keep my wanderings on a local level, at least while I'm trapped at the minimum wage line. And luckily, I now have a few work buddies who might just be feeling up for some road trips!

Fear not, loyal followers- jet setting overseas is still in my near future. I have already booked my tickets to Hong Kong for July 2014 to attend the wedding of one of my best friends from high school (with a potential side excursion to Thailand), and all *future* savings will be going towards a ticket to South Africa in the spring of 2015 for a Phuket teachers reunion 😊 Fingers crossed!

Thus, I have completed my spark notes version of the past twelve and a half weeks of my life. Hope it was as thrilling for you as it has been for me!

Advertisement



10th April 2014

Thanks for the update...
you job sounds fun, as do you future travel plans.

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0701s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb