Endless days at Disney + Amazing Meal + awesome stuff


Advertisement
Published: May 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

What a great day! I sit here with another pint of "Sam" which is Samuel Adams, a supreme beer which I love already.

The day started at 6am with around 4 hours sleep under my belt. We march off to Disney ready to see this supposed world of "magic" (which science discounted years ago!). I went in a skeptic and came out a happy guy.

First Disneyland is actually Disneyland and next to that the Disney Adventure Park. Don't fool yourself...trust me! You WANT to go to Adventure Park if you're going to Disney. The rides at the adventure park are far superior to the Disneyland rides. At any rate first we visited Disneyland and it's just amazing the level of details that's gone into this place. I saw probably every major ride but only about 25% of what the park had to offer. Disneyland is full of side-shops, niche food eateries, casual rides and photo opportunities. I would say if you were under 13 you'd want to stay at Disneyland for 3 or 4 days easy.

So through the main entrance and somehow we ended up in the new Indiana Jones ride which was really cool. The rides are so fully fleshed out. They may now knock you about like a mad rollercoaster but you can see so much work has gone into this. This goes the same for the pirates of the Caribbean ride, which is rather tame but still fun. Space Mountain had a ludicrous waiting time of 1hour but it was alright. The Haunted Mansion was very creative and Disney have some cool hologram technology and I found it highly entertaining.

The Finding Nemo ride....well...yeah kids would love that. The car ride where you drive around on a rail....yes kids that loved Cars would love that..the Princess village thing...well it looked cool and young girls would love that...goofy was there and kids loved that. Afterwhile we found ourselfs thinking quietly - are we actually going to do two days at Disney on kid's rides? Well at around 2pm we decided to go to the adventure park which was bad mouthed several times online. Man, those critics are so wrong. There is a solid five or six hours to be spent at this side of Disney and it rocks far harder. The "Calafornia Screaming" rollcoaster is the most fun I've ever had on a ride. It's just pure awesome from whoa to go. The Hollywood Hotel drop was a, blast and so was the rapids ride. I guess I was blown away by the scale of the operation and the level of detail that the two Disney parks present.

Later at the Anahiem plaza (after Disney has worn us out for now) we had an awesome pizza and groups of prom kids, all dressed up, came in and the whole atmosphere was just surreal. We came across a HILARIOUS Captain Jack impersonator who hit on Jihye...anyway he was very very funny and quick to joke and I think Disney should actually pay that guy to work for them. He asked where I was staying (as to joke about where Jihye was staying....) and I said: "yeah, a hotel" and he goes: "ah local then!" Which was really funny as Anaheim seems to be a bunch of connected hotels. He then stumbled off and entertained the school kids which I thought was brave.

I have to say it's been a hectic day. I never thought I'd say this but I really enjoyed Disney they really do try and make the day special there but the staff are funny as you can see the frustration of a long day creeping through.

I'm in the lobby and outside is just limo, SUV, BMW, Chevrolet, Corvette, Jeep, anything that impresses is out on the road dropping off kids to their after prom parties and what not. Another thing that comes to mind is how polite everybody is at Disney, no one ever pushed in, when a guy bumped Jihye he walked back and apologetic to her face and this guy was a tough talking teenage. So yeah, I was like: holy hell. I see some of those tattoo'd up, white shirt wearing with lots of bling latinos everywhere but they are so polite, they hold the door open and say: "you're welcome" when they could just punch my in the face and laugh and get their brothers to kill me.

Anyway, it's hard to believe it's only our second day here! We have done, talked about and seen so many things that seem so foreign! Which is as it should be!





Advertisement



15th May 2011

Enjoy !
First time in L.A from Australa? You'll love it and want to come back to the States as soon as you come home. I know I did and hence my second trip in 12 months. Enjoy and safe adventures :)

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb