Day 2 - Minden, NV - Bishop, CA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Bishop
August 7th 2011
Published: August 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Day 2


I can't believe I am going to utter these words.....I am sunburnt! That is right mark your calender this doesn't happen often. We had a fantastic day! Theo and I cannot believe that we have never driven this route before. We made our way up to 9000' in elevation. The Sierra Nevadas are the most spectacular mountain range I have seen (I have seen quite a few). We started off with a stop to Twin Lakes where my mom used to go as a child. The upper end was very busy and the lower end was very quaint. The water of course was ice cold. We left there and headed to Bodie State Park. The road into Bodie was a winding 13 mile treak with the last 3 being dirt road. Once we got there the parking was tight and it was jammed pack full of people. It was very interesting to see the town as it was, but the thought of putting my face onto window panes to see what was inside along with 80 million other people, gave me the heebie jeebies and I couldn't do it....We left there and headed south to Mono Lake, June Lake and Bishop, our final resting stop. We checked into our hotel and headed for the pool. Everyone that was at the pool was from a foreign country. Mason made friends extremely fast with some kids from Holland and Australia...they were the nicest kids! Looking forward to tomorrow and more sights that we have not seen!
Today's hints were:

• My population is 3,475 people
• My first post office was in 1889
• I am in Inyo county
• I sit at 4,147’ in elevation
• My zip code is 93514
• I recorded record snow fall of 23.2” in January 1969
• I am 2349 miles from Washington DC
• I am the Mule capital of the world
• I am home to the “Mule Days” and Tri County fair
• I was named after Richard Owens, a member of Fremont's 1845 expedition
• I am home to the Paiute Indian reservation



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb