Jungle jungle juice


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Berkeley
August 24th 2011
Published: August 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So its that time of the week again ( a little late though). This week has been a little less hectic than last, I am settled down in my triple dorm which is a lot less weird than I thought and luckily my dorm buds love going out partying too. We had to go to some patronising welcome meetings in which we were told not to get drunk at frat parties, come back and throw up everywhere...which my roomie then did 2 hours later. I've also been finding my way around campus, although in general it does still take me at least half an hour to find any buildings. I was pretty worried that there would be a leagally blonde moment in my first lecture as people around me started getting out their laptops, but in general people do use paper out here too, and the lecturers are pretty chilled out, one of them did the whole lecture sitting on a desk and called fungi 'fun-gee'.

Frat parties are pretty cool, just think every film you have ever seen of American frat parties and add some beer pong tables. The British accent also works a treat for getting into parties 'ARE YOU FROM ENGLAND? Thats awesome! Everyone with a shit crazy accent can get in'. Although people still keep asking me if I'm from Australia which seems to have the opposite effect. The drink of choice is Jungle juice, a crazy 'frat secret' punch which so far we have discovered includes beer, vodka, cranberry and cherry. Sounds disgusting but its delicious and lethal, not good if your just going out for 1 drink or an early night.

Earlier in the week we had the fresher fair, Caltopia, described as 'the greatest two days on earth' ( a little optimistic perhaps) but it was pretty fun and provided two days of delicious and completely free lunch. Then we had the society fair, Calapalooza which again meant free lunch and helped us all get some school spirit with cheerleaders, the marching band and some lovely men from the American football team. Tempted as I was, I restrained myself from signing up to the Quidditch team, although we did get a full explanation as to how the game works. Essentially you run around with a broom between your legs, if you fall off your broom you have to do a lap of the pitch and someone dresses up in a gold morph suit as the Golden snitch (shockingly they are running short on people to do this).

There was a teeny tiny earthquake on Tuesday night, which I was rather too drunk to feel. I do think I felt some sort of after shock in the morning though, but it might have jsut been a big lorry going past. I'm saying its an earthquake.

Other things I have done this week are: swimming at Strawberry Canyon, eating a pastrami sandwich, having a cookie ice cream sandwich (literally incredible), getting hit on by a homeless guy, being accused of faking my British accent and eating more Ben And Jerrys than you could possibly imagine.

This week proper classes start so hopefully I will be doing something more interesting than eating, sunbathing and drinking (although I hope not too much more!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb