Off to Work in New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Bakersfield
October 24th 2013
Published: October 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I’d barely been home for a week when I got the call to go to New York. There is some program for Hurricane Sandy claims and I was asked to work as an inspector for the program. I had a choice of dates I could arrive so chose the last one possible. I chose to start on Friday; I’d fly on Thursday, arrive in the evening then attend the workshop all day Friday. Flight was booked and I got myself ready to go. Fortunately I’d never unpacked from Toronto so I didn’t have too much to do.

I’d gotten a late morning flight, probably not the greatest idea but I thought that it would give me time at home and still get into New York at about 9pm. I got a room at the Extended Stay; a friend had already arranged a good rate for us adjusters. It was about 20 min from the meeting on Friday a.m.

Dale dropped me off at the airport with my 2 large bags, each about 50#, plus roll carry on, Ferrari bag, camera bag and purse. Again, since seasons were changing I brought both warm and cool weather clothes.

I checked in, checked the bags and went on down to the gate. After sitting and sitting it was announced that the plane was going to be late. Then it was announced that it would be later. Finally the plane came and we flew into LAX. There all flights were delayed, for hours, due to weather. Oh brother, now I was getting into NY later and later. I tried to switch flights but every flight was jam packed and late.



Finally, after a very late flight I arrived in NY at about 1:30am, tired and still needing to get to my hotel. I went to Avis to find that my rental car had fallen off the reservations so after a long line with only one reservationist, I got my car by 2:30am. Since I’m a Preferred Member my car is always waiting for me with no line. I got to the hotel and into bed by 4am. 7am came way too early.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.076s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1015.1kb