Backpacking With A Knee Injury


Advertisement
Published: July 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The big concern, besides food, is that I’m just coming off a knee injury. It is actually an old ski injury that flared up when I increased my incline on the tread mill, one of our cardio routines. I didn’t do anything about it for a couple of weeks just thinking it would go away but when it didn’t then I went to the doctor and was diagnosed with tendinitis.

I told the Doc that I was going backpacking in 3 weeks and my knee had to be healed up. Not a small request as I am beginning to understand. The Doc, to get rid of me put me into physical therapy.

So now I go to physical therapy 3 times a week, 1-1/2 hours each visit and then on the other days do prescribed exercises 2 times a day plus work out at the gym. Gym exercises include biking, working on the elliptical and jogging in the pool.

The therapist thinks that I’ll need to get a shot in my knee before leaving as it is highly likely that the knee will not be healed. Unfortunately I absolutely hate shots so am dragging my feet on this one. I think I’ll just take some anti-inflammatory pills and my knee brace along instead.

In the meantime I’ve lost ½ “around my thigh!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.1038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.2kb