Finally a place to call home... well kinda


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arkansas
August 28th 2009
Published: August 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So let me just say that I was unable to write yesterday due to an overload of stress and frustration. I woke up yesterday because I had to go to work at 915 to start orientation (since I can do that without an OT license)... and I couldn't find my keys. I tore the hotel room apart looking for my keys. Those of you who know me.. probably aren't surprised. You shouldn't be anyway lol. I had to call my job and tell them I had lost my keys and was going to be late to work (great on the first day of work, I'm late.. freaking amazing). I had just about given up hope when I remembered I had cleaned out my car the night before and threw some things in the trash can outside of my apartment. Since I was carrying a lot of stuff I thought it was possible for my keys to have fallen in.. which is exactly what happened. Luckily for me the hotel didn't change the trash too often so the keys were still there, buried under my burger king bag. Freakin amazing. So I left for work, and ended up about 15 minutes late, it all worked out, well except I got there and they tell me my company has not given them any of my records in regard to my drug test, my health records, my actual resume, nothing. Sooo that sucked. Fortunately Britni was pretty cool about it. The 3 other girls I was in orientation with are a lot of fun, so even though it was hours of sitting at a table doing paperwork.. it was still a pretty good time. We were laughing and cracking jokes so it worked out. Then when I get back to the hotel I'm all excited because I was under the impression I was going to be able to move into the hotel. I thought wrong. So I had loaded my Rav4 to the max with my stuff and was unable to do anything with it. The reason I was unable to move into the apartment was because my company did not want me to do that unless I had my OT license, because if the second fingerprint card was illegible as well it could take up to 3 weeks for me to get a license. And they knew I would not stay in Arkansas without a job for 3 weeks. So, needless to say I had to stay in the hotel again.
Today is a different story. I woke up early enough, was able to take Kubby for a brief walk in the morning (to help ease his anxiety), and then made it to work (about 25 minutes early this time). I found out I GOT MY OT LICENSE!! So that was some good news. And then I had fun hanging with the 3 other girls, KeKe, Candice, and Rachel during the rest of the orientation stuff. We were finished in the morning at 1045 so we went to Chic-fil-A for lunch, it's a real treat to do that because the ranch is like 45 minutes away from any restaurants. It was a good time, then after lunch we had some more things to go over then we broke up and I went my separate way to my office and reviewed some charts. Took forever and I didn't even get through half of them. Work seems like its going to be pretty cool though. They want me to start seeing clients as early as Monday. I don't know if I'm ready for it, but all I can do is my best. I'm hoping I won't have to see all of them, maybe just do a few sessions, and work my way up to a full caseload over the next week. The people I work with seem to be pretty cool too. We were having fun, and everyone is pretty chill and laid back so that's good too.
After work was good too, I got to move into the apartment.. after we went over another 30 minutes of other rules. You know, really important stuff like, don't run the dishwasher after 10pm, don't run the washer/dryer after 10pm.. and for some reason she thought it was necessary to tell me to lock the doors and go on about how theft is minimal but it does happen.. I finally interrupted her, reminded her I was from the St. Louis area and that she not need to worry because I am not stupid enough to leave my doors unlocked. Not thrilled by my comment she moved on to the rules for the tanning bed, golf course, etc. *shakes head* So like the title says.. finally a place to call home.. kinda. Cause it's going to be hard to call this place home when its decorated with furniture I would never buy (not that it's ugly, just not my style), I can't hang a picture on the wall, and there are so many rules I don't know when I can flush the toilet and when I can run the washer. But ah well, it's in a nice area, with lots of stuff to do, and close to the major shopping area (lol not that there is much to brag about, but at least I'm walking distance to Target and PetCo).
I took Kubby to the park for a walk and just playtime before I brought him to the apartment.. it seemed to help with his anxiety. Even now I'm typing away at the keyboard and he isn't even phased by it (for those of you who know my dog.. that is unheard of, he usually flips out, runs in circles, barks, jumps, etc, whenever someone is typing). So I am liking this taking him for a walk in the afternoon when I get home, the only thing is trying to take him for a walk in the morning. I am not a morning person so it is very hard for me to get up to take him on a walk. So far I have done it the past 2 mornings in a row and it has helped his behavior, so I'm going to try to keep it up. I'll keep everyone updated on how that goes lol.
Anyway, I will end this post, it's a pretty long one.. just a lot that's happened in two days. It will probably slow down next week and I won't have anything to say! lol

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb