Havasupai Falls with TravAss


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Supai
April 10th 2006
Published: April 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I traveled to Arizona to hang out with Travis and to go on my first real backpacking trip ever, and my first time camping in a looooong time. We traveled to Supai, AZ-- pretty much in the middle of nowhere in the northwestern-ish part of the Grand Canyon State. We arrived at hilltop Friday evening to find way too many cars in the parking lot. We started our hike early in the morning Saturday-- I think we were the first people to leave the parking lot. After a few hours, we reached the village of Supai. By this time we had 8 miles under our belts and on our shoulders, and had only 2 more miles to go to the campsite. The campsite was pretty crowded as well, with a lot of large groups that I think were on spring break, a lot of teen butt everywhere.

Travis managed to score a really great campsite away from the others but still in a central location. We explored the 2 main falls during the afternoon-- Mooney Falls and Havasu Falls. To get to Mooney Falls, one must go through the rock walls through tunnels that have been carved out. Its steep
Friday night on the hilltopFriday night on the hilltopFriday night on the hilltop

Hanging after dinner Friday night on the Hualapai hilltop. Tthat night I slept in the Outback which Travis preferred the ground.
and slippery, so for someone prone to tripping and generally falling over nothing, it was a little challenging at times but we made it. Afterwards though, I think the sun and lack of real food had gotten to me as I started to feel feverish. We headed back to camp and made some lunch, Trader Joes soup bowl, some garlic sweet bread and the required Dr Pepper. After popping some Advil, I then crashed out in the tent for what seemed like hours but it was only a little over one hour.

I tried to find Travis at the Havasu Falls but he was on the other side. And since I am a wuss when it comes to cold water, I stayed on the shore and had the pleasure of seeing some Asian guy in a speedo posing for photos....something I could have done without. Anyway, Travis found me and we just hung at the falls for a while. The night wasnt very eventful, a lot of reading at the picnic table, talking, and exploring Havasu Falls at night. I also decided to walk to the toilets that were further from our campsite. I underestimated the distance and it
On the trailOn the trailOn the trail

Stopped to take a lot of photos along the way
too way longer than I had thought. So, if you have to pee, you should really use the closest toilet and not search for some 'magical' one.

The next morning, Sunday, we awoke early and packed up our gear so we could get a move on, as the hike out was pretty much all uphill. It is very gradual for most of the way. But the last 1.5-2 miles or so are straight back up out of the canyon. Even the Dr Pepper I drank shortly before coming to the 'wall' didnt help. I had a good clip hiking up until then, but then I really had to go slow up the hill. My backpack felt twice the weight it really was, which was probably about 20-25lbs. At any rate, we made it out of the canyon.

Next stop, Phoenix. But that was after taking hte scenic way back to Phoenix through good old Kingman. At least there was a Sonic in Kingman! Travis had never traveled on route 93, so it was good for us to drive that way anyway. My favorite part of the road is the joshua forest.

Overall, it was a great trip.
Mooney FallsMooney FallsMooney Falls

Although it looks nice and warm and sunny, I was COLD in the shade from the mist coming off the falls.
Travis is a great travel partner-- no drama, knowledgeable and fun. Looking forward to another adventure with the 'Ass soon!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Beautiful blue-green watersBeautiful blue-green waters
Beautiful blue-green waters

The water in the area is a beautiful blue-green. Against the red rocks, it is a breathtaking site. The name Havasupai translates to "people of the blue-green waters."


26th April 2006

oh yeah...
good times on this trip! Next time needs to be longer tho, and Tall Todd needs to be along to carry all of the food - err wait he would eat it all...

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb