Minerva visits!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Prescott
January 16th 2012
Published: March 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

I'm back in Arizona visiting my parents for three weeks. Within two days of my arrival, my best friend from high school, who I haven't seen since 2009, came down to visit for five days.

We didn't do as much as I suspect we would have liked; but then, we were both more tired than we'd planned. Friday and Saturday were spent chatting and shopping, and evenings were spent watching Harry Potter movies with my parents.

Sunday my parents went to a concert downtown and Minerva and I went to the Sharlot Hall Museum. Sharlot Hall was a pioneer woman who took it upon herself to make all the town's historical landmarks into a museum. Since Prescott was the original capital of Arizona, these sites include former governors mansions, an old school house, cars and wagons, and all sorts of artifacts from years gone by. All in all, it's a really nice museum with helpful tour guides. It really gives a sense of what life must've been like when people first settled here.

After we finished touring the museum we went down the road for some coffee and afternoon dessert. All I can say is that Chocolate Thunder Cake is the way to go and easily serves two people.

After we stuffed ourselves, we braved the flurrying snow (which I found to be a surreal experience) and met my parents at The Palace Saloon. The Palace (as the locals call it) has been around since 1877, survived the great fire of 1900, and was once a hang-out for some of the west's most famous cowboys and gunslingers. It still holds its charm and they can fix a mean drink.

Then it was back home, to finish the first set of leftovers from many trips to my favorite Mexican restaurant.


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

At the courthouseAt the courthouse
At the courthouse

The trees are all decorated to celebrate AZ's centennial this year.
The first governorThe first governor
The first governor

Sharlot Hall Museum
The dice gameThe dice game
The dice game

popular in China, it was popular here, too.
These guys have it right!These guys have it right!
These guys have it right!

Sharlot Hall Museum
"Fort Misery""Fort Misery"
"Fort Misery"

Really makes you want to visit, doesn't' it? Sharlott Hall Museum
I think my timing was off...I think my timing was off...
I think my timing was off...

Sharlot Hall Museum
The Fremont HouseThe Fremont House
The Fremont House

12 years later they build this new governor's mansion. It's amazing what time and supplies can do!


Tot: 0.335s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 87; dbt: 0.2501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb