The Rock and Roll Motorhome


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska
August 23rd 2012
Published: September 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Stunning Glaciers of AlaskaStunning Glaciers of AlaskaStunning Glaciers of Alaska

North! To Alaska that's where I want to be.
My father has been a nomad for as long as I can remember...only to be domesticated somewhat by my mother when my brother and I arrived back in the late sixties. Once you meet him it doesn't take a genius to figure out that he needs to be in forward motion at all times. My mum, the clever girl she is, bought him a ride-on lawnmower....and that seemed to keep him in check.

Dad, aka "the Bud" has lived the equivalent of 16 lives...and has no intention of letting old age get him. After a lifetime of flying all sorts of planes & jumping from them, racing anything with wheels, ice road trucking the Arctic, outfitting horses through the deep B.C. mountains, surfing the big waves in Oahu, chasing fish the entire coastal Pacific, terrorizing the neighbourhood on his muffler-less Harley Davidson....he's retired. God help us all. First line of business...a retirement gift to himself, a monstrosity I like to refer to as the Rock and Roll Motorhome. I have only ever seen famous rock stars with this same getup so I offhandedly ask if he is planning to start a new career in country music. I am absurdly dismissed.
The Rock and Roll MotorhomeThe Rock and Roll MotorhomeThe Rock and Roll Motorhome

Captain Bud at the helm


Fairbanks, Alaska, 0540 hours

I find the Bud panning for gold somewhere north of the Tanana River...I'm not authorized to specify exactly where as he has been diabolically earning $100 per day. He proudly exclaims, “I’m paying for my upkeep.” Suddenly doom overwhelms me. Could this mean I too will be required to earn my keep or risk being unceremoniously kicked out of the Rock and Roll Motorhome to fend for myself?

Thar are grizzles in them these parts...and mosquitoes the size of bears. I pan furiously.

Thanks to Dad and his wandering ways, I have been to the North many times before. That being said, this taiga frontier continues to unequivocally blow my mind.

Arriving in late August, I find Alaska’s distinctive autumn already closing in. The carpets of crimson fire line the valleys of the Denali National Park bringing on that feeling of solitude, tranquility and wilderness. What awaits us is over six million acres of wild land, bisected by one ribbon of road.

However, there is a ski resort-like atmosphere at the parks entrance, slightly reminiscent of a Camp Wannapuke. We order a greasy American pizza from a place called Prospectors
Carpets of Crimson in Denali ParkCarpets of Crimson in Denali ParkCarpets of Crimson in Denali Park

Fields of berries as far as the eye can see. Grizzlies fatten up for the long winter
as the masses of international visitors merge into one ball of chaos, who like us, are trying to jam as many activities as possible into their limited itinerary. At this point I'd like to acknowledge two remarkable strangers called Charles Sheldon and Harry Karstens whom over a hundred years ago lobbied government to make this the world’s first national park. Thanks to them, Denali is frozen in time.

This park is well-known for its wildlife diversity which is dictated by seasons. The brief spring brings the return of 80% of Denali's bird life, the waking of hibernating bears, and an increase in activity levels of wildlife. Summer is a time for eating and raising young to prepare for migration, hibernation, and survival during the winter. Summer also brings hordes of insects. In fact, the national bird of Alaska happens to be the mosquito. In late summer salmon run in the multitude of streams and rivers. And by autumn, migrating birds fill the skies south as bull moose gather their harems of cows for the mating season. Winters are long and brutal.

One of my main objectives was to tackle a few interesting hikes while we enjoy the gloriousness
Nice Rack!Nice Rack!Nice Rack!

Antlers displayed proudly on peoples cabins. Hunting for game is a natural affect of living in the far north.
of the park. Armed with bear spray, mum and I trod along the slate blue paths. The silence is deafening. Too quiet for mum, she pipes up to state she sure hopes to see a parmesan. I answer with teenage-style exasperation, "Ptarmigan mum, not parmesan!" We do spot lots of birds and fuzzy critters along the way but none of the big five as we ascend. Large piles of nuggets indicate there are a zillion of them all hiding within plain sight, probably having a laugh. Like them, I’m relieved to be in the safe confines of a national park at this time of year. Excitable hunters will shoot at anything that doesn't have on a neon jacket.

The following day we join up for a more extensive ranger-led hike with some Europeans whom are wearing disproportionate amounts of jingle bells. How do you say, “You are annoying the living piss out of me,” in Norwegian? I grit my teeth. We scale switchbacks for almost four and 1/2 hours to a lookout for Mt.McKinley, also known as Denali (the high one). The largest mountain in all of North America at 20,320 feet (6,194 m) I can feel her looming
Denali HighwayDenali HighwayDenali Highway

The endless mud road not open in winters, it would be a nightmare under 6 feet of snow.
presence somewhere out there in the rain but alas, I will not be one of the lucky 30%!t(MISSING)hat get to view her in all her splendour. Not that I care, Aaahhlaska just kicks you in the gutty wuts it is so beautiful.

As I get older I grasp the fact that, so do your parents. I know they won't be around forever…so my goal is to appreciate and enjoy them while they are on this glorious planet with me, but I struggle not to revert into a whiney teenager within the confines of the Rock and Roll Motorhome. A challenge. Case in point, I highly suspect both of my parents…and their dog…are going deaf. I find myself constantly yelling to relay information between all three.

Since our whirlwind itinerary is short of the ridiculous side, we decide to cheat and cut through using the Denali mud highway which is only open half the year. I’m talking bumpy moose wetlands and caribou tundra as far as the eye can see. We spend the afternoon picking wild blueberries with grizzlies…..there is a respectable distance of rolling tundra scrub between both species.

Rule of thumb, you don't need to
The Bud pans for goldThe Bud pans for goldThe Bud pans for gold

Trying to earn his fortune in Alaska's frontier
outrun a grizzly, you just need to be faster than the person you are with.

Down the road, gigantic pairs of trumpeter swans float like marshmallows in lake of hot chocolate as we fish for Arctic grayling in the Tangle Lakes, Dad and I while away the day discussing his memoirs. I have been begrudgingly recruited as his ghostwriter but all my notes are a confusing mess of conflicting data as my parents argue over the correct names of places and the year it happened. I seriously wonder how they were able to rear children without misplacing one of us.

Rewarded with crisp air around a hardy campfire, I realize for the first time I am not going mental swatting bugs. Verification I have discovered the most grand time to visit Alaska indeed. We keep our eyes peeled above for an Aurora Borealis to streak across the glorious twilight sky. No luck. Perhaps I would feel robbed had I never seen it before. The stars twinkle a light show as an offering of constellation prize.

On the solid pavement again heading south, we hypnotically roll through miles and miles of alpine tundra and sporadic groves of funky
The everlasting sunset on DenaliThe everlasting sunset on DenaliThe everlasting sunset on Denali

The daylight never does fade summers in Alaska but it was sneaking up. Winter dark is not that far behind
black spruce when my Dad states plainly, "You have control" and suddenly leaps out of his driver's seat. We are hurling down the highway doing 100 km. I scramble to quickly assume control as the Bud goes in the back to make a sandwich. "I have control." I yell back sarcastically, this old captain’s trick was intended to keep rookie co-pilots on their toes....an acceptable practice while mid-air, it's a little more alarming on the terra firma.

We have spotted the Alaska pipeline all along our journey. An engineering marvel, I'm not sure how I feel about it at the minute. Currently in B.C. we are being forced to consider one of the same spanning our province for no particular benefit to us, and the majority aren't happy about it. Depending on where you stand in the fossil fuel debate, it is a hard sell. I personally want us all to get away from the use of any carbon fuels eventually, so this hideous silver snake surprisingly irks me. However, to appease the Bud I take in the touristy presentation with guarded scepticism. The presenter gleefully exclaims that all Alaskan residents reap the benefits of this pipeline with a
Wild Blueberries on the DenaliWild Blueberries on the DenaliWild Blueberries on the Denali

Sat with the grizzles and ate my share of berries. Awesome for blueberry muffins and pancakes.
fat dividend cheque each year in which they spend on commercial goods therefore circulating their economy. “Win win for all,” he explains. This pretty much seals my decision. Some suit in Texas sitting behind a desk doesn’t give a flying fling-flong about my province's environment. He just wants that oil to move in any way necessary to China.

It’s really time for my generation to wake up and rethink what we are all doing to our planet. Seriously.

As we come upon the glaciers of Wrangell–St.Elias National Park I can tick off another UNESCO World Heritage Site from my list. A total area of 13 million acres reserved of spectacular glacier and ice field landscapes. I am gobsmacked at how wonderous they are close up.

We need more time. Although we are not here to hunt for any of Alaska’s big five, I can see the Bud is starting to get antsy. There are too many people wearing camouflage in this country and this sorta ignites some kind of primordially redneck yearning within him. He promises not to kill anything this trip…unfair expectation because we have gone through some pretty prime habitat for moose, grizzly bears, caribou
Sled dogs wait for the snow to arriveSled dogs wait for the snow to arriveSled dogs wait for the snow to arrive

They while away the day on the roof of their logcabin dreaming of racing off on a sled team
and Dall sheep...the Bud reluctantly forfeits but glasses the horizon longingly.

Our only animal encounter is a baby moose that almost became a hood ornament for the Rock and Roll Motorhome as we approached Anchorage. Oh, and I've passed my country music threshold.

As our trip winds to a frenzied close, I realize Alaska is impossible to fully enjoy in just one visit. It would take me months to see and do everything I love here. I plan for a tentative return so I can fly into some of the more remote parts, sea kayak the glacier fields south of Valdez, and perhaps enjoy a salmon fishing excursion past the 60th parallel. For right now I have memories solidly locked in of time with my parents and for that I am pleasantly content with my Alaskan adventure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Everythings on FireEverythings on Fire
Everythings on Fire

Fireweed goes crimson along with wild rose hips in Alaska
Hiking in the Vast Frontier of AlaskaHiking in the Vast Frontier of Alaska
Hiking in the Vast Frontier of Alaska

Beautiful country, with so many hiking trails to explore. Grab your boots, a good rain coat and a canister of bear spray and go!
Klondike Day rememberedKlondike Day remembered
Klondike Day remembered

Gold miners spent most of their earnings on the good time girls that plied their wares in Alaska.
Fox EarringsFox Earrings
Fox Earrings

The fur trade is still an active part of Alaska. Not clear on how required it truly is anymore.
Glaciers around every corner!Glaciers around every corner!
Glaciers around every corner!

The fields of glaciers may melting and disappearing forever, see them in person before its too late.
I've hit pay dirt!I've hit pay dirt!
I've hit pay dirt!

My little gold score of $45 from 10 minutes of work. Whew. Earned my keep.
The Alaska PipelineThe Alaska Pipeline
The Alaska Pipeline

From Prudhoe on the Arctic Sea to Valdez, this pipeline is an engineering feat and kinda cool.
Moose hiding in plain sightMoose hiding in plain sight
Moose hiding in plain sight

Never saw a single moose, but piles of evidence were everywhere.
Christmas all year roundChristmas all year round
Christmas all year round

Creepy town of North Pole Alaska with a gigantic Santa.
You'll never get thereYou'll never get there
You'll never get there

Just when you think you are only 1 bend away from your destination another bend comes along. The roads seem endless in Alaska.
Dredge No. 8Dredge No. 8
Dredge No. 8

The dredges in this area brought 7 million dollars worth of gold, back when gold was $35 an ounce. Its now $1100 an ounce.
Autumn is officially here in AlaskaAutumn is officially here in Alaska
Autumn is officially here in Alaska

Got myself a touristy warm Alaska hoodie. The sun was just breaking and extremely bright after 3 days of rain
Ol school transitOl school transit
Ol school transit

Back in the day there were no roads. In fact my Grandfather was one of the americans who build the Alaska highway in the 40's for the war. Riverboats are how people got around.
Trails through black spruce forestTrails through black spruce forest
Trails through black spruce forest

freaky forests of 100 year old trees just clinging to the permafrost in Alaska
The Whirlwind tripThe Whirlwind trip
The Whirlwind trip

Clocking nearly 1000 miles in only a few days, we managed to do somewhat of a loop.
A wall of ancient iceA wall of ancient ice
A wall of ancient ice

I snapped this blurry picture from the rock and roll motorhome of the glacier that has to be at least 20 stories high.


6th September 2012

The Bud is cool....
...all hail the Bud! Why is it that I never ended up with a cool dad like yours? All I got was an old bike for my 12th birthday and I never saw the ol' git again! Anyway, 'Du är den mest retande jävelen jag har någonsin träffat' should alleviate all your Norwegian tourist troubles, it's actually Swedish, but they speak the same lingo up that way and it all sounds the same to me anyway :)
6th September 2012

Thanks. I don't take the Bud for granted...he is one cool dude. Oh and thanks for the Norwegian translation. I have a feeling it will come in handy someday in the future. They are an irritating race. jk.
6th September 2012
I've hit pay dirt!

MANY TALENTS
Great blog...makes me wonder how good my son has it living in Canada the last 4 years...and that I need to get to Canada & Alaska sooner rather than later. Hope my son thinks I'm closish to how cool your Dad sounds...thus your many talents.
7th September 2012
I've hit pay dirt!

What! You have a kid in Canada. Well then you must come and visit....us!!
6th September 2012

You come from strong roots
The Bud sounds like a great man and your mother the power behind the great man. Would love to have had a dad like that. Oh well. Hats off to all who have participated in protecting lands around the world from those of greed and selfishness.
7th September 2012

As yes, the Bud would be nothing without my strong mum guiding him along all these years.
6th September 2012

Excellent adventure!
I love your style: a ball of chaos, freaky forests, gigantic pairs of trumpeter swans float like marshmallows in lake of hot chocolate, winding down to a frenzied close. Your dad's amazing life and your fab writing are a deadly combination; please write that book--or at least give him a blog! Well done!
7th September 2012

Why thanks Tara! I hope to capture the spirit of the Bud in his memoirs someday....
6th September 2012

Great to See A Cabochick Blog
It is great to see a blog from you. I enjoyed reading about your parents. It's great that you were able to take this trip with them. Thanks for including them in the blog. Oh, and seriously, who else would put up a picture of moose droppings? I love your style and humor. Hope you take some more adventures soon.
6th September 2012

Thank you Brendan. A little known fact about the Bud...he suffered a broken neck at age 50 and the accident completely rerouted his life. It taught me that life can change in a blink of a eye. Everyone should stop and smell the roses...or take pictures of the moose poo! Cheers!
7th September 2012

What great parents! It sounds like your dad's memoir might require more than one book . . .
21st December 2012

Great blog!
Don't know how I missed this one, but just read it and loved it! Your parents sound so cool. Cool parents = cool kids, right?
22nd December 2012

Ah yes, gotta appreciate those parental units while they are still around! Thanks Anastasia!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 16; qc: 26; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb