Seeing Skagway . . .


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Skagway
May 8th 2010
Published: June 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today’s new Alaskan port is Skagway. Skagway is cool little town. Well, village I guess, it’s really small. It’s an old gold rush town. They’ve maintained historic buildings and taken some from other locations and moved them to the main street. Before arriving, when I’d read about the town, it made me think that it would feel like walking through a Gold Rush style main street Disney World - and that kind of is what it’s like! It’s so set up to be an attraction in itself that it seems too perfect to be real. But then there are all the tourist shops filling the buildings to remind you of the reality of where you are. Even with all the touristy stuff, it’s still very neat to walk around.

The town is surrounded by mountains. They’re huge and snow capped and just stunning. The spot where the ship docks is also stunning. I couldn’t stop taking pictures of the ship with the incredible scenery behind it - and that was before I’d even gotten into town!

I spent my time just wandering around the village. I wandered in and out of some shops. But mostly I just checked out the buildings and little nooks and crannies I could find. There was this great little courtyard with a few shops and a couple cafes that was a neat little find.

I was also on a mission. My friend Michelle, who worked on the Spirit last year, told me that I had to go to a shop called Sugar Mamas to get one of their cupcakes. All she told me was that the shop was pink. I couldn’t find it on the mainstreet and had just started to wonder if it wasn’t there anymore. Then when I turned down one of the side streets I spotted a little pink building - it was Sugar Mamas. The cupcake was indeed devine. I’ll be back there I’m sure many times!

In town is a restaurant/bar called the Red Onion Saloon. The upstairs of the building was once a brothel and they give little half hour tours of the building. Late in the afternoon, I met up with a few other crew members and we decided to do the brothel tour. It was pretty fun. The girls leading the tour were dressed up in costume and played a character as though they were ladies of the house - keeping it all innuendo of course. The stories of the different women and customers and owners was really interesting.

My final stop of the day was to buy a coat! After seven months in Mexico and then Hawaii, it is COLD here! Apparently it will warm up, but meanwhile, I am downright chilled all the time. Even the ship is freezing. You really realize that you’ve in a large metal ship now that we’re in cold water and air - everything, the ship floors, walls, it’s all cold. I found a nice jacket that was inexpensive (I guess they’re prepared for lots of cold tourists!) that will keep me warm for the next month or so. Cause I don’t want the cold to stop me from exploring Alaska!



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Homemade Cupcakes!Homemade Cupcakes!
Homemade Cupcakes!

Michelle, who was on the Spirit last year, told me I had to go to Sugar Mama's - I'm sold!


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb