Alaska Adventure - Last Day in Anchorage


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Anchorage
September 7th 2013
Published: September 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Well, it is my last day in Alaska. Rain is predicted. Again. But, my niece has made reservations at Anchorage's most popular brunch spot, Snow City Cafe. I love brunch! And it doesn't disappoint. It is very busy and we have to wait even with reservations! After fueling up we trot over to the farmer's market which I'm very impressed with. Lots of enormous vegetables (apparently they grow large due to the long days of daylight) and lots of local arts and crafts. Then we head over to Resolution Park with its tribute to explorer Captain Cook.

We head back to the house for a few hours where Will frets over his NC State Wolfpack football players where his constant diligence ensures their victory.

That evening, I have found an interesting tour and weaseled Ginny into going with me. It is a Ghost Tour of Anchorage! Now, I've never seen a ghost, spirit, demon. But I really want to believe. I've been on a couple of paranormal investigations in Sacramento hoping to experience something, anything! But, alas, it never happens. It didn't happen this time but it was entertaining just the same. The host had done a tremendous amount
LuAnne and the Ghost HunterLuAnne and the Ghost HunterLuAnne and the Ghost Hunter

Tours run through mid-Sep. Meet at 7:30pm at Snow City Cafe.
of research into the history of Anchorage including unsolved murders and ghost sightings and we had an entertaining couple of hours.

We killed the last few hours grabbing dinner before Will and Ginny dropped me off at the airport to catch my 1:40am Sunday morning flight back home to Sacramento (and sunshine).

My Alaska Adventure didn't go quite as planned - I didn't get to do many of the things I wanted to do - horseback riding, kayaking, flying a plane into the bush. But I did get to do something even more unexpected and rewarding - connect and get to know my wonderful niece, Ginny, and her great husband, Will. Will's work may be sending him to Siberia of all places! I know I'll be there!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Era Alaska AirlinesEra Alaska Airlines
Era Alaska Airlines

Being a pilot I love watching 'Flying Wild Alaska' so I had to snap a photo of the airline's check in counter.


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb