Alaska Update - Day 29 - 8/20/12


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Anchorage
August 20th 2012
Published: August 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Alaska Update – Day 29 (8/20/12)

Greetings All (especially family so you know I’m OK). I just posted the written part of Days 18 – 21. Unfortunately, I was not able to get any pictures to post from this hotel. I know the pictures work the best for everyone and not sure why I couldn’t get any to upload last night but now, I’ve got to get moving on so just getting at least the story out and this update so all know I’m ok. Sorry that my delay might have started concern. I need to remember there is a reality out there even if I’m seemingly lost to it.

As I posted last week – I spent the week at three different wilderness lodges – a fully guided trip. It was an absolutely incredible week – literally. There were twelve of us and then Anna, our guide. Short story is we hiked an 8.3 mile trail up, up and over and around stunning country (I made it but then subsequently missed the next day’s six miler that most others did); we rafted to the next lodge down the river we had relaxed by two nights; we stayed in cabins literally surrounded by total wilderness – national park, state refuge area, etc. – only accessible by boat or raft; boated to the Glacier lodge – again the only public access point for miles and miles and miles; boated past a huge variety of birds (puffins are cutest), sea lions, a whale, and sat in front of the glacier while it calved; next day we kayak’d to that glacier and sat all strung together while we ate our lunch right in front of that very glacier; hiked to an area where we ate our lunches watching Grizzly mom with two cubs across the river retrieving lunch (salmon) for themselves; canoe’d past Black bear, harbor seals, more Puffins, and a rain forest that brought the sunshine out just for us; and we even had a couple of campfires with s’mores. It truly was an unbelievable trip that we all commented so throughout the week. The week was over before we all knew it and it was amazing to look back and see what we all did. My mind and spirit are in an awesome place though my body was definitely weak by the end of it - - all sincerely rewarding and worth every challenge. Perhaps those who were on the trip will comment with their insights too though now that I think about it, they won’t post until I accept them when I get back from Denali. Oh well.

Today I have a four hour drive to get to Denali which means I have to get moving to get on the highway and get there. I will take a bus in since no cars are allowed into the park itself. I will stay in Kantishna – Camp Denali - for the next four nights – in the heart of Denali National Park. Lots of guided hiking to be had so another week of no worries for you all when I’m not posting. There will be no Internet or cell phone coverage again. Since I also seem to have picked up a cold, I suspect I will take a true down day the first day to let this body regroup some. The picking up stamina theory may not be working so well but continue to push and challenge this ‘ol body to get the absolute most out of every step of the journey. After yesterday Mass, wash, bill paying, reorganizing, packing up for another week, and trying to post pictures, it will be nice to physically regroup a bit. It’s all goodness. I have been, I am, and will be just fine I’m sure. It is totally amazing, totally fantastic, and utterly astonishing that I am here. I am sincerely living a dream!

Love to all – especially all my family 😊

God bless.

Rita

Advertisement



26th August 2012

enjoyed Kenai
Rita, It was a pleasure to be part of your journey. It was great having you as part of the week on Kenai. I agree, it was magical. Thanks for sharing your story and journey with me, Hongmei, and the kids. It was fun trying to one-up you on the beer buying! I think I won...... Enjoy the rest of your journey. I wish we all were still in Alaska.

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 20; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb