The Great Alaskan Frontier


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Anchorage
July 20th 2003
Published: August 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Farhad and I decided to make the most of our summer by spending a week in the chilly air of Alaska. I'm posting this entry 6 years after the trip (it was the summer of 2003 - I didn't have a blog then) so I don't remember many of the specifics but I wanted to add this to my blog for posterity :D. The one grand moment that I do remember was seeing a reindeer for the first time! 😊 I thought they only existed in stories involving Santa Claus but there they were - in the flesh - antlers and all :D

We were driving down the highway from Anchorage to Denali National Park and from the corner of my eye I saw a big brown creature with antlers. Could that be? Was it? It was! A reindeer! I made Farhad turn the car around - and we met Twosoc 😊 He was huge but he was too busy grazing to even look at us. We had to pay someone a dollar to have our pictures taken with him which I would normally never do - it's such a tourist trap. But this was a reindeer - and when
Where the sun don't setWhere the sun don't setWhere the sun don't set

Farhad and I waiting for our dinner - at 11:30 p.m.!
were we going to ever see a reindeer again?!?

We were there in July, which is summer in Alaska and the sun doesn't set. It was a bizarre feeling - it never gets dark! And the vegetables and flowers are HUGE perhaps because of all the extra sunlight.

We took a plane ride over a glacier outside of Anchorage, which we couldn't really enjoy because we were both a little quesy from being in such a tiny plane. After spending 2 days in the quaint little town of Anchorage, we rented a car and drove to Denali National Park. From what I remember, Denali was a bit of a disappointment. We didn't see anything but trees and hills. The drive was more scenic than the park. On our last day, we jumped aboard a cruise ship to Portage Glacier. It was the first time I had seen a glacier -it was exhilirating 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Lost antlersLost antlers
Lost antlers

Fun fact -- reindeers lose their antlers every year
Snow in July?Snow in July?
Snow in July?

Just our luck - for the first time in 10 years it snowed in July.
Look at  the size of that lettuce!Look at  the size of that lettuce!
Look at the size of that lettuce!

The vegetables were huge - perhaps because of all the extra sunlight


22nd August 2009

Your awesome Alaska trip with Farhad
Hi Jenny, Absolutely gorgeous pics. This seems like a much better way to take a trip to Alaska. We have now gone there on a cruise twice and never seen a live reindeer. Thank you for sharing.

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb