Travels with Snowbirds Sunday June 30, 2013 Aiken SC to Talladega Creekside Resort, Talladega AL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama » Talladega
June 30th 2013
Published: June 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


The one about heat

Since I had free wifi last night, I worked on the computer, got all my blog stuff set up, got my expenses spreadsheet ready to go and planned out my trip a little more. Before I knew it, it was midnight. I took Winston for a quick walk and the temperature had dropped significantly enough to turn off the A/C. I put on my fan and immediately fell asleep, no reading, no nothing.

By the way, I have finished 2 books: Dead and Gone, Sookie Stackhouse (True Blood) #9 and Snow Flower and the Secret Fan. I love the Sookie stories, light, fluffy, easy reading, and I do read these on my kindle rather than listen. I listened to Snow Flower; a real chick book, generally not my kind of reading, but I loved the story, and it made me go do internet research about Chinese Women foot binding. There are some interesting internet pictures. Next up is Dead in the Family, Sookie #10 on the kindle. I restarted Joshilyn Jackson’s A Grown Up Kind of Pretty….2nd go round for this book, and it was just as bad the second time as it was the first. I do not like the readers voice. I deleted it from the ipod. Next up, thanks to Gina R is Odd Thomas. It took me 3 times to listen to the first 20 minutes before it caught my interest, and now I am hooked. He talks to dead people.

Pine Acres CG ended up being an ok place. While old and worn, it was generally very clean and neat, with recent work done on the interior roads. The grass was cut. The bathrooms were old, but clean and neat. The residents and transients were all very nice people.

I woke at 6, rolled over until 7, was gone by 8:30 (it’s easy to unhook when I didn’t put anything out but electricity and cable) and went on my way to find Wal-Mart. Pam, I tried to drive thru downtown, but every road I took said NO TRUCKS, and that always makes me nervous. Either they are too narrow, or low wires, or low trees. So, I went around town, found the most beautiful Wal-Mart I have ever been in, turned the generator and A/C on for Winston and had a ball.

In addition to milk, bread, and other staples I bought a few interesting things. Hose washers so I can try to stop the leak on the fresh water hose. If I remember correctly, I have had this problem before, and I know I have hose washers someplace, but damned if I can find them. A fake sheepskin cover for my seatbelt. The seatbelt is installed way too high for me and it cuts across my neck. This is generally ok in the winter when I have a sweatshirt on, but in a tank top it was cutting into me. My biggest purchase was an extender for the charger for my iPhone. The Verizon auto charger that came with the phone doesn’t fit into the opening in the Lifeproof case. Lifeproof, of course, sells an attachment that fits into their hole and extends up and my Verizon auto charger fits neatly inside it. I was going to get a USB cigarette lighter thingy, then use my USB to IPOD cord, that was $17. The Lifeproof gizmo was $24. I opted for that because I don’t need to remember to keep putting my Ipod USB cord in the car and I can carry this thing in my handbag so it is always available. I had a small bowl of cereal in the parking lot.

On the road and I did some phone call catchups. Northern Georgia has rolling hills! Who would have known! Not me. The temp zoomed to 90. The dirt is red, there are lots of trees and lots of horse and cattle in the fields. I drove west on I20 the entire day, thru Augusta, not much to see, then thru Atlanta, a big congested city. I saw a Six Flags park on the eastbound side and saw at least 4 HUGE roller coasters right along the roadway. I stopped a few times along the way, I needed more coffee, Winston wanted to go out, yadda yadda yadda. Crossing into Alabama I changed time zones. Temp now 94. Interesting to note, I had to turn my phone off to get the time to reset. Same with the GPS. My radio already had the right time. I gained an hour. Northern Alabama is even more rollier and greener than northern GA. Who would have known!!

There ought to be a law that says if you have a blowout on an Interstate and your tire gets shredded, you must stop and pick it up and take it with you - not leave it in the middle of the roadway, not leave it on the roadside. I can’t tell you how many I saw today, enough to see what an issue this really is. Swerving out of the way of a massive truck tire is NOT FUN! The other thing I saw was dead turtles. I saw at least 6 yesterday and an equal amount of more today. Poor things, why are they trying to cross the Interstate…….don’t answer that.

I set Garmina for the International Motor Sports Hall of Fame, on the grounds of Talladega Superspeedway. I plan on going there tomorrow and just wanted to check out the lay of the land. Coming up on the Speedway was like driving up to Mohegan Sun in CT. It rises up out of the trees and is HUGE. While I didn’t get that close to the actual track, the stands appear to be high and massive. I read 200,000 people are in town for race week. Ugh. The parking lot situation looks like I can easily park my RV in it tomorrow. I will try to find a shady space, turn on the generator and A/C and leave Winston inside and go do the tours. I am stoked.

On to Talladega Creekside Resort, another find in the Passport America app. About 5 miles from the speedway over the river and thru the woods and following the creek, I pulled into an exquisite tiny campground and saw my site…..the one in the total sun, the temp is now 95, but the sky is clear and the humidity does seem somewhat less. I am still sweating. There are an equal number of camping cabins as campsites. All very neatly groomed and painted, with new wood seen on some porches and in the office. In addition to the campground, Owner Sue runs a livery service for kayaks on the creek. She rents the kayaks to you, or you can use your own, then she carts you 6 miles upstream and you kayak back to the campground. It looks awesome. Envisioning me in a kayak is not something I see in my mind’s eye. I cannot think how I would get in or out without falling over, so I will put my feet in the water and be very happy watching the afternoon go by tomorrow. Book on my headphones, crocheting in my hands, and perhaps even take a nap.

I was hungry. I had that small bowl of cereal at 8, and a banana about 3. My stomach was churning. I plugged electricity in and turned the A/C on, put the awning out, took a hamburger out of the freezer and fried it up with red onion slice and tomato to top it off. I do have a charcoal BBQ, but I just didn’t want to wait for the briquettes to get ready. It was the best hamburger I have ever had. Joined by a Lime-A-Rita over ice, sitting outside in the 95 degree heat……What could be better? 20 channels on the air antenna, no locatable wifi (CBS/Big Brother! And I have a personal hotspot). I am going to sit and crochet tonight……gotta finish the baby girl blanket for a ‘cousin’ in FL soon!!! I just checked the TV. 60 minutes is on. It’s 6:30. Huh?

Life is good. Sweet Home, Alabama.

Kat out

Advertisement



1st July 2013

So far things are going well for you. The heat and humidity in Alabama can be bad. I lived there for a few months many years ago. Am leaving for Cali with Marlee on Wed. Have to see the Dr. first. Think I broke a couple of toes. Not getting better. Can't get my foot into a shoe and it's been a week . Phooey.
1st July 2013

stirring my wonderlust
Great to travel along with you again Kat, but I want to be on the road again too. Glad you met all those nice people and Moya is humming along.
2nd July 2013

traveling
and I wish you were with me, Kathy

Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb