To Varanasi I will go.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama » Birmingham
January 24th 2009
Published: January 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone,

I have finally decided to go to Varanasi/Sarnath/Boyd Gaya directly from Katmandu, Nepal. I will be there from the 16th - the 20th of February. This will give me a good 4 days to spend with Thrangu Rinpoche personally. I don't know why it has taken me so long to decide this. I was tossed up between going there or going straight to Dharamsala from Nepal. But i figured, I will be in Dharamsala for 2 1/2 months. Thats a long time. And I know if I would have done that, then I would have never made it back to Varanasi on this trip. And I HAVE to go see Bodh Gaya.

For those that don't know what is so special about Bodh Gaya, it is the place where the Buddha attained his enlightenment. It is the most (for lack of a better term) "Holy" place for Buddhists.

Anyhow. I will keep you updated.

Cya 😉

Advertisement



26th January 2009

sarnath is almost in varanasi, taking less than an hour even by cycle rikshaw to arrive. you can stay at the tibetan temple, or one of the paying guesthouses. one day there should be sufficient. however, if you are planning on going to see bodh gaya as well, try to meet up with some pilgrims in sarnath, who will most likely go to kushinagar, where lord buddha passed away, and to places like ratnagiri and vaishali on the way to bodh gaya. of course, just outside bodh gaya is rajgir, where lord buddha gave many teachings, and the ruins of nalanda monastery. to complete the pilgrimage of the 4 great sites, you should also try to visit lumbini, which might be easier to do before you leave nepal, as it is on the nepal side of the border. all this can be done in less than one week, if you plan well, but anyway you have time, and these are the most important places in the buddhist world, even if they are rather small, dusty towns.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb