MacLand


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama » Auburn
January 28th 2008
Published: January 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Blue SkiesBlue SkiesBlue Skies

For those of you who can't remember what one looks like
So, about the 2nd question they asked when I got off the plane was whether I’m a Mac or PC person. I, of course, didn’t shy away from elaborating on my love for Macs. Everyone else on tour with me has a Mac, with one exception, and a few people who will be leaving us soon. Our tech table has several all lined up. It’s hot. All this to say, my power cable started going out, and it is now officially dead. Something is wrong or loose or something in the transformer. But because we all have new Macs, everyone’s been gracious in sharing their power. I called Apple this morning to see about getting a new one. By this time, I had already traded out all the parts of the cable with working ones to find out exactly where the problem was. While on the phone, I explained what had happened and what I knew and what I needed. She kindly said, “Your power cable doesn’t work?” Yes. “And how did you come to find this out?” Well, I plugged it in and nothing happened… I thought that would have been clear. Then I had to explain why I didn’t
Sunny Day!Sunny Day!Sunny Day!

Yes, it's warm (enough at least for tee shirts) and beautiful here... not under 2 feet of snow ;)
know where I’ll be in 4 days and why I’m shipping it to some random venue in Atlanta.

Today was beautiful! We got to sleep in (the kids had a few church shows.) And I went for a walk and did laundry and did my quiet time by the pool. For those of you in Spoklahoma, I included a few picture of the sun, and blue skies and such. Today was a blessing. Yesterday, our stage manager came in and brought me a present- a pinecone.

We finished all our tech stuff and teched the school show (it’s shorter than the regular one). It feels weird going into shows tomorrow since we have not done a real dress rehearsal. Oh well. Turns out I will be running the console in every venue, which is ideal for me, and the show.

The kids are doing well, but I think we’re all ready to get into a routine. Soon, hopefully. No more techs. On the road for good.

Our director, whose name is Dave, is very much like my uncle Steve. They are built very similarly and look the same. Even some personality traits and mannerisms are the same. It’s really odd.

They say, “You’re no good unless you are a good assistant; and if you are, you’re too good to be an assistant.” Well, one of the hardest things about this for me is starting at the bottom. I am now the grunt intern, which is much different than my internship at the church. I unload the van, set up his computers and crap, blah blah blah, and pack it all up. Yesterday, we were working late and he asked why I didn’t get all his stuff put away. “I would have, but you just now stopped using it. Had you been working on the stage, I’d have all your stuff packed and the van started by now.” Everyone sort of giggled at the truth of it, but then Ryan started looking for the keys and couldn’t find them. “They’re in your right hip pocket.” And that’s when the laughing started. It’s quite fun.

The other hard thing is being on this side of the crew. Several time, I was doing grunt work during the In and Ryan said, “make someone else do that. You’re too smart for this.” But I’m so used to doing the crap jobs. I have to admit, it’s kind of nice, as I get used to it, making the locals do the dumb jobs. Although, I don’t know if that will be the case with all the crews, or just this one, because it’s all high school guys, so picking on them is extra enjoyable.

Our first shows are tomorrow! Please be praying. Almost everything is done, at least plenty to do shows.


Advertisement



28th January 2008

Praying!!!!!!!! Liane

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb