February 13 and 14 in Playa


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Playa del Carmen
February 14th 2014
Published: February 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

A link to an English interpretation of Carnival events:

http://www.playa.info/playa-del-carmen-forum/71338-carnaval-2014-a.html#post2034126



Feb 13 – El Fogans and Wal Mart day – Today I walked up to 30 Avenue and then started over towards El Fogans on 30thavenida at Calle 6 Norte Bis. I had read about it in various blogs and etc. and so wanted to check it out. Then the plan was to go to Wal-Mart afterwards for some essentials. At El Fogans I felt like experimenting so I got the Arrachera Especial which was flank steak with various side dishes. It was quite good as were the other items that came with it.



It was a mistake eating so much though as I still had to continue on with my walk to Walmart. So I headed that way on a very full stomach and did my shopping for some essentials. I wished later I had gone on to Mega a bit further down 30 avenida at Ave. Constituyentes. Shopping at Wal Mart was OK but the lines at the checkouts were massive. The clerks at the register seemed to be going as deliberately as slow as they could and the lines were moving at a maddeningly slow pace. After I got through there I made a vow not to go to that Wal Mart again.



When I finally got my stuff I needed through the lines I went out the door and down an escalator to the garage where numerous cabs were lined up. I had written the address of the hostel in Spanish so I tried reading it and at the same time showed the driver the piece of paper so he had no trouble taking me to the hostel. The taxis here in Playa have no incentive to take any out of the way route to where they are going since there is no meters in the cab and they go by zones. So from Wal Mart to my hostel was the same 50 pesos as it would have been had I taken it from the bus station last night. About $4.00.



So between lounging around in the hostel in the morning and then eating at El Fogons and then shopping at Wal Mart that pretty much took care of my second day in Playa.



After I unloaded my stuff and put it away I used the rest of the day in emails home and internet research at the hostel. I was pretty much limited to what my computer would run on battery as there was only one plug in the common area and some old guy with a continuous frown on his face was always using it.



The plan for tomorrow was to check out the beach and some of the restaurants on it.



Feb 14 – I had brought my little immersion heater with me and bought a souvenir Playa del Carmen cup yesterday so I pretty much fixed up my tea in the morning and drank it while thinking things over. After pretty much lounging around in the room all morning I loaded up my computer and went down to the common area to log on because wifi didn’t reach the rooms upstairs. I almost always try to get an upstairs room as they are usually quieter. It didn’t work quite so well as a local rooster took up his task of crowing around 5AM and kept at it till 11AM…..grrrrr….someone needs to eat that rooster.



In any case after catching up on my computer work I eased down to the restaurants on the beach. I had read in my research that Fusions there made a great Greek Salad and since the weather was hot I figured a cool salad wound be just the thing.



I sat on the deck at Fusions and it had a great view and cool breeze blowing. The salad was a disappointment being what appeared to be some lettuce and finely chopped veggies (probably usually used in salsa) and some feta of course. No bread was offered to go with the salad. In any case I needed my veggies so I ate it and it wasn’t bad really, just not what I had hoped for.



The great view of the turquoise water made up for it as well as the cool ocean breeze.



After eating I walked down to the beach and took some pictures and then walked the length of 5th street from Juarez to Constituyentes, and noticed ATM’s all along the way but nobody using them. They must give a terrible exchange rate and the word is out. There were also plenty of places to exchange money offering different exchange rates as well.



The salad hadn’t satisfied me and so I stopped at a booth on 5th street and got a couple of slices of Pizza as well.



By now I was looking for a restroom and found out there were some in the massive shopping mall at 5th street and Constituyentes called Sanborns. You go in the front from 5th street and all the way through the mall and then up an escalator. At the top of the escalator looking to the left you will see the symbol for restrooms, or banos as they call them down here.



So after using the restrooms I walked over to the circle on Constituyentes and relaxed a bit while people watching. On the other side of Constituyentes are more stores and venues going on as far as the eye can see. But they all pretty much sell the same stuff anyway.

I started to catch a cab on Constituyentes back to my hotel but they wanted 70 pesos and so I walked back 5th street a bit till I found a cab which would take 50 pesos and took it back to the hostel.



Observations:

In PDC the old bus station is located on 5th avenue and Avienda Benito Juarez. This is the station that the bus from the airport in Cancun arrives at. On Juarez Avenue outside taxis are lined up and waiting. Taxis in Playa don’t use meters but there is a set rate by zones. From the station to inside the area bordered by Avienda Benito Juarez on the South, Avienda Constituyentes on the North and 30th Avienda on the West it should be 50 pesos ( about $4.00). Its more to Playacar.

The Sandifer Serfin ATM is located inside the south entrance to the ADO bus station on 5th avenue and Juarez.

There are Scotiabank ATMs across 5th avenue from the Bus Station at Juarez and 5th.

The local collectivo vans line up on Benito Juarez Avenue at 20th Avenue. The local collectivo busses line up on 20 avenue at Benito Juarez.

The collectivo busses in Playa to elsewhere leave from their location on Calle 2 Norte between 15th and 20th avenue. There will be collectivo busses parked on Calle 4 but that is their rest stop area.

I took the collectivo bus to Tulum. It was packed full but only 40 pesos. I made the mistake of saying Tulum instead of “Tulum Ruinas” which is the cliffside ruins of Tulum. So I ended up in Tulum pueblo. So if you want to go to the cliffside pyramids and beach make sure to tell them “Tulum Ruinas”.

When leaving from 5th Avenue on Constituyentes taxis always want 70 pesos (about $5.50) and sometimes 90 pesos. Even so the cost is not that high and a long walk on a full stomach after eating and drinking is not pleasant.

When going to Wal Mart or Mega I generally walk to them and then take a cab back with my stuff. Some might prefer to pay the $4.00 each way instead. There are collectivo buses that run on 30th avenue to various locations but by the time you get to 30th avenue you may as well just walk to the Wal Mart or Mega. The collectivos are usually jam packed with locals anyway. The taxis seem to have an agreement whereby they get all the areas south of 30th street and the collectivo’s don’t go there. They are usually too full anyway for a person used to some “personal space” around him.

I rode the local collectivos in Los Cabos all the time but find these here always full , and besides by the time I walk to 30th avenue I may as well walk the rest of the way to the Wal Mart or Mega.

I use the Wal Mart only for things I can’t get at Mega. While shopping at Wal Mart isn’t bad the lines at the checkout are maddeningly long and the clerks at the checkouts seem to be exercising a well practiced slowness. It takes forever to get through the checkouts.

In Mega like at Sams in the US be prepared to show your receipt to the guy at the door on the way out.

In Feb 2014 the official exchange rate for the dollar and Mexican Peso was 13.2 peso’s to the dollar although I don’t believe I got that anywhere. I think 12.5pesos to the dollar was the best I got from a merchant. 13.2 pesos to the dollar was the exchange rate I got from the Santander ATM in the bus station however.

Tulum ruins are open from 8am to 5pm each day. The entrance fee is 59 peso’s. There is a tram which will take those who don’t want to walk from the entrance to the ruins and back for 20 pesos, or you can walk. Try to get there before the tour buses arrive at 11.

The first ADO bus from 5th street in Playa leaves for Tulum Ruinas at 9AM. Cost 140 pesos.

The collectivo busses from Calle 2 at 15th street start at 0:530 and leave when full, and I mean full.

The old ADO bus station is at Juarez at 5th street and the new station is at 20th avenue at Calle 14.

I was told the ADO bus to Tulum departs from the New Terminal on Calle 14 because Tulum is merely a stop along the way elsewhere.

Pollo Asada means roast chicken.

In Playa Main Plaza at Avenue Juarez – taco stands in morning and early afternoon – was told the cochinita pibil was great.

Wal Mart is on 30th Avenue at Calle 8. Mega is on 30th avenue as well at Constituyentes.

El Fogan – Calle 6 Nrte Bis. at 30th ave. – Tacos al pastor

There is a Santander ATM on 30th avenue at Calle 14 across from the Gran Mayoreo near Mega.

Polo Rojo – good chicken dishes – on Calle 2 Norte and 15th avenidas where the collectivos leave from.

Le Tarraya – Fish filet in Garlic sauce – 50 pesos – at end of Calle 2 Norte on the beach.

Blue Parrot – on Calle 12 at beach – was closed when I went there

Playa Maya – at end of Calle 8


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



27th February 2014

WALKING
you will be ready for the races all the walking, glad your having a good time .Picking some words .
28th February 2014

walking
Thanks,

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb