Oh What a Glorious Morning...


Advertisement
Published: July 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

"Oh what a glorious morning, oh what a glorious day, plenty of sunshine heading my way, zip-a-dee-doo-dah"....

It's hard to believe within 24 hours we'll be waking up in our own beds. Right now I've opened our sliding doors to a humid warm breeze and the sun is playing hide and seek with me through the palm trees. Oh those pool waterfalls are so inviting; I think it's time to get in my bathing suit and hit them!

It was a really nice sunny hot day here yesterday; I saw more people with sunburns than all of my time here. We were careful and no one got burnt. It was the type of weather that gets the beaches hopping and the blenders going!

We had a great day at the condo in the pool, and later got out to do some errands, and have dinner on the town. I went all out and had some grilled lobster and it was a real treat and a good way to end our day here.

My hand-made cocktail glasses from Italy that I had ordered through Calle Ocho arrived yesterday so I was tickled pink to get them in time to pack them for home. We have them as carry on and I now can't wait to have a dinner party for people to ooh and aah over these beautiful glasses that come in red, green and white.

It was a strategic operation of huge proportions to get all of our belongings sorted, who'd carry what onto the plane, and I asked the front office if they had a scale and they had a hand scale which was fantastic to weigh our bags before Cancun. It's awfully annoying to put it on the scale at the airport, then it's over by a few pounds and there you are, opening your bag with your underwear flinging out, so you can rearrange it in a state of flurry to hit the 50 pound mark. No thank you for that extra dose of stress. We're going to buy a hand scale; they're very light and efficient.

Today we'll finish packing and have a nice breakfast and enjoy our last half day here.

Ava slept with us in our bed last night and it was like she was a hammock between two palm trees. Guess who the PALM trees were? Yep Al and I held down the hammock as it swayed back and forth. It's hard to get annoyed with her, her sweet little face and 20 little fur animals that sleep with her.

SO the update is our flight is delayed and we won't be home tonight. We'll hit Ottawa at 10 am tomorrow morning. Al and Lara are on different flights so they went ahead without us. 😞

Oh well, we'll have some lunch, and hang out and make the best of it in Playa. I think today is the hottest day yet. Ava was carrying our umbrella to keep the scorching sun off of us 😊

My video and pics will follow. Sheesh I'm too damn hot to upload pics or videos.

Adios from Playa del Carmen; fun on or off the beach 😉

Salida (yep that's Sally in Spanish 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb