Times flies when you're having fun!


Advertisement
Published: July 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

"Sun is shining, weather is sweet. Makes you wanna move your dancing feet".

I think if I pasted in the same blog each day that it's fun, hot, soft sand, pool, and ocean, great food, music and company, you'd might never notice the difference. I feel I'm boring you with some of the days as if we're on repeat!

After the island tour, we were beat from the feet up. I was so tired from cruising the island that I think I thanked the microwave for heating up Ava's hot chocolate!

Thursday was relaxing with Al having another dive where he saw a lot of marine life. In particular, huge crabs, lobsters & moray eel, and a large stingray, barracuda and huge freakin' lion fish. Now if you have read anything about lion fish, they are invasive and becoming a huge problem to the Caribbean. At one time they were this rare species that divers couldn't wait to see but now they basically have started to take over the Riviera Maya and they are eating through the reef and threatening saltwater fish and marine life.

They once thrived in the South Pacific until they were brought over and accidentally let out of an aquarium and before you know it, they became an invasive detrimental intruder. So what's the solution? Researchers were hoping natural predators would keep the lion fish at bay but they have proven no match for even sharks because the lion fish have venomous spikes. So next best solution? Researchers say, eat them! Yep, fishing can possibly control them, and apparently they are quite tasty; light and flakey meat. And we should avoid eating grouper which controls the lion fish...So tomorrow when I'm out on the island, I will pass on the grouper and ask for the lion fish for lunch...and I'm not "LION" er, lying 😊

Anyhow, overall Al had a great dive and felt he was in such a magical aquarium full of tropical fish he swam through and he was thrilled about the experience.

As for me, I was up early with Rory and Ava; off to Walmart for milk and snacks, but somehow they kidnapped me for breakfast on the beach before we even got a chance to get to Walmart 😊 The breakfast is SO good on the beach, the music great, the service fantastic (thank you Juan) and it's just zen on a plate.

I know as the days whittle down here that it's key to enjoy every minute; even more than we have been doing if that's possible? Oh Playa, I am going to miss you darlin' when the time comes. Sure hope you write )

Yesterday we enjoyed lunch out on the rooftop of Palm Hotel with concierge service; yes Paulina our waitress from the restaurant Calle Ocho was assigned to us on the rooftop as the staff running the upstairs seemed to have their hands full. It was another delightful meal but with THE best views of Cozumel Island we've ever seen to date. Imagine being up 4 stories high, looking over the ocean with vivid gradations of color, of light, where the sky meets ocean. Where you can see Cozumel Island pretty clearly and the glimpse of a cruise ship in the distance leaving the port.

Rory ended up with swimmer's ear and has been out of the pool for a few days; it's like torture for Rory not to be able to go in the water. Ava though is making up for Rory's share; she's just like a fish, and grandma and auntie have enjoyed floating around the pool with her. And yesterday grandpa took his turn on the lounger to watch our little fish swim around the pool.

Grandma enjoyed a massage today while the four of us (Al, Sal, Lara & Rory) went for a pedicure. Yes we convinced dad to do that and he says his feet feel great. It was a beautiful set up, with outdoor spa chairs, soft music, and someone massaging your feet 😊 Ahhh what a treat, and really well priced and a discount for the girls.

It was fun for the girls to see their dad do something "spa" like with them when it's normally not within his comfort zone. (He opted out of the nail polish that comes with a pedicure!) We had so many laughs together as a family (well minus Miss Ava; she was in the pool with grandma!) Salud to Al for coming with us for the pedicure; even though I saw him toss back a Tequila before we went 😊 You're a good old dad and I love you for it Al...(I wonder if he'll even read this?)

We have a lot of great friends and I'm pleased to say that they are all great moms and dads as well. The list is too long to name everyone but you know who you are. And the moms and dads that do it on their own, well there's not a big enough hat to tip you all for doing such an amazing job. Holy crap parenthood is hard, well that's if you want to do it right. And where the heck is the hazardous pay? Ah well, it's all for a good cause.

Family connections are so important and as I get older, even more so. As long as I live I will always feel the deep connection of family (even when I've wanted to escape them or they wanted to escape me ;> There's no escaping the family bonds we're born with.

We are tied together with invisible threads and those threads remain for a lifetime (if you're lucky to get a lifetime with a loved one). We go through one season after another together, grow, change and like a tree we branch off but in the end there's no denying, we all come from the same roots. Many people sometimes cringe about upcoming family gatherings, but when they don't happen, there is a deep longing for them. Tradition is a hard thing to break.

Al & I dream of great things for our girls, but in my heart, I really hope that they will always remain close, connected, have their disputes and move on and remember they are part of one of the most wonderful and powerful connections in the world; sibling hood.

Who the hell else can quite match your sense of humor, or the way you express yourself with your hands? The way you laugh, the way you recount a story? Or how some of your features are mirrored in your sibling's face? Or how you can remember back to your childhood about events that no one else's eyes would light up over? Or how you remember that one crazy aunt or uncle that would have all your family members all in stitches when you bring up a story about them? Ahhh, there's just an undeniable connection of DNA that just can't be replicated in anyone else in the world.

Siblings are the people we practice on until we're thrown out into the real world which is not so forgiving of you. Siblings can tease the ever lovin' crap out of you, beat you up, but god love anyone else that comes along and tries the same thing. (I still have the memories of my brothers beating up anyone that messed with me, but they had no problem with tying me upside down to a bunk bed and putting a sock in my mouth). And you wonder why I yam the way I yam?

Already I see it with our girls, how they have their "inside jokes", their hierarchy, their roles, but already they have a protective fierce love for each other. It's a great feeling to sit back and watch them, and how they interact with each other and to know, no matter what crap life throws at them, they can call each other up, and reach out (and hopefully discuss my upscale, all inclusive seniors home when the time comes heh heh).

Truth is siblings (and great friends) outlast some marriages, survive the deaths of loved ones, and sometimes can recover from quarrels that would sink solid friendships. And for the most part, they are always a little bit of childhood that just can't be lost. And I think, that even when you get older, into the golden years of your life, you still look at your siblings with a youthful eye. There's always the first born, the middle child, the baby...even into your 80s and 90s...

And sometimes despite conflict, hurt feelings, misunderstandings, those that pull it all together & can overcome those roadblocks really are the winners in the end. And most times you do it because, MOM SAID SO!

Even though my siblings are apart at times, and we're missing one as Bill has passed away (though he sure knows how to take up a lot of room in one's heart, so in many ways he's still here walking among us), I still feel a big connection with my siblings especially my gal Cindy. I thank God mom and dad kept trying after having me so I got you 😉 You're my sister & comrade-in-arms, my friend, my confidant, my protector, and my back up henchman when needed! And you're a great aunt to my gals :> (remember the "Pointy Sisters"? No need to ask, I know you do. That's another part of sibling hood; there are some things that remain unspoken, but they are there loud and clear and don't need explanation.

And at the end of the day, I am blessed with a great family but more so, such great friends that sometimes I feel they have the same DNA as me (you poor nicker nobbers you!) Many of you have filled our home on holidays, Christmas and important milestones. Cheers to our family-like friends.

Well, usually there's one blog on a trip where I wax on about family and blessings; must be the soothing waters & air that makes one spew. I guess it was a slow day in the news if you got stuck reading this blog today.

So I'll sign off for now. See you tomorrow unless you see me first.

PS We're off at 8am to Isla Mujeres again. She's magical, wonderous, beautiful, intriguing, mystical and captivating. Much like all of you who're reading this blog. (And no, I'm not selling anything; take the compliment!)

PSS an assortment of photos below.

Your Captain for this blog,

ME


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



13th July 2013
Guacamole & pico del gallo

Yummmm!
This Guacamole is just what the Doctor ordered. Can I Beam myself Scottie' there??? ;-P Yummy indeed.

Tot: 0.383s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 108; dbt: 0.2223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb