Down in Mexico...n'shit


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cancun
December 7th 2008
Published: December 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola Amigos!

Okay so I so I am becoming quite fluent in Spanish- I can now say Hola (hello), how are you (In my beered up state I cant remember how) Senior, Senorita, Gracias, Muchos Gracias, and Je ne pas espanol (Which is French for 'I don't speak Spanish'). My Spanglesh is also getting quite good.

Okay so much to the slight embarassment of Loz, since the only language I ever learnt is French, I keep getting it mixed up. At least I speak European? Oh jesus, lol.

Anyway Cancun is a welcome change from LA. On our full day in La we went to Universal Studios which was good fun (will upload photos later, have left camera in room, and only place internet works is lobby) The smog was getting a bit boring, although we did learn the joys of the subway-- it is only caught by 'poor' people and therefore is very much creepy and underpopulated- but a lot cheaper that abusive taxi drivers.

Universal was much like the usual theme park- I rate the Simpson's Ride, if you ever go there. We went to 'Wendy's' (A burger joint similar to Mcdonald's) for dinner one night and discovered it costs a quarter to use the toilet. What! Also I used a $20 note to pay for the subway and got change in $1 coins, which nobody will accept because they are so new. Dammit!!) LA though is grossly overpriced and I wasn't upset to leave. We will return there on Tuesday though- we spend one night there on route to New Orleans (whoohoo!)

So here at the resort we are staying in everything is prepaid (like on a cruise) and it's a full bar pretty much 24/7, and they know their way around cocktail book! So we have been working our way through the menu (although due to bad experience I refuse to drink anything with tequila in it) The resort is mostly populated by youngish Mexian folks and middle aged American couples who eat with their fingers and yell loudly (though I think the full bar might have something to do with that) we are the only Australians in the resort and as such are well remembered by the staff (which is sometimes annoying when they have spent the past 2 days trying to get you to give them $100US for a parasail and you have told them 'maybe later'). Though they are very friendly and funny people and great for a chat. They also coreograph some hilarious activities such as 'paddle a surfboard across the pool, get out, spin around 5 times and then try and paddle back' resulting in a lot of very drunk americans face down in the pool, and loz and I sitting at the swim-up bar giggling.

We went to "Market 28"- the local markets, yesterday. It is just like a typical asian market where the people working there harass you and try and get you to pay a ridiculous amount of money for something quite cheap. I, having never had this type of market experience, am a bad haggler and am told to be quiet by loz, and I also find this experince quite intimidating. She, on the other hand, is a pro :-)
It was fun though, and they had lots of corona related products. Fiesta!

Speaking of coronas, we sat down and spoke with the hotel concierce on the first day in Cancun, and I tried to order a corona to which I was told that they don't have them here at the hotel. Instead we have been drinking Dos Equis (sp?)
If you are a fan of Mexican beer then I definately recommend this brew!
/
All for now guys, we are going on some snorkelling/sightseeing tour tomorrow, which pends another blog.

Adios



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb