Laguna Yal-Ku in Akumal, Mexio


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Akumal
June 3rd 2011
Published: June 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

First lagoon entranceFirst lagoon entranceFirst lagoon entrance

Note the sculpture
I can go home now. I had such a great time at Laguna Yal-Ku in Akumal that I’m totally fulfilled. When I walked from the parking area through the meticulously manicured path and arrived at the entrance of the laguna proper, my mind was blown. It took a good long while to wrap my head around how beautiful the location is. The above-water world is only partially what makes this place one of my favorite in the world. The snorkelling was fantastic. And there isn’t even any brillantly colored coral. The lagoon floor is white and peppered with white rock formations below, mangroves above. As I swam, I would see light piercing through an opening in the rocks and in due time I was able to follow an opening to the other side. It was very much like being in a perfectly maintained aquarium sans the pirate and his chest of booty.

The water is mostly warm as a pleasant sunny day with occassional hotter pockets where the water is shallower and chillier areas where fresh water from a cenote is seeping into the lagoon. Normally when I’m snorkeling, a song from the Little Mermaid pops into my head. Not
PalapasPalapasPalapas

You can also rent bungaloos, called palapas, for the day for about US$25.
here - I couldn't stop thinking how amazing this place is and how lucky I was to be there! There are a number of private entrances to the lagoon that lead to vacation rentals. Next time I come to the part of this world, I know where I’m staying. Definitely renting a house with direct access to the lagoon! At one point, I exited onto a wooden platform almost entirely at the back of the lagoon. I laid belly up in the warm sunlight with my eyes closed and rested for a while. When I finally opened my eyes and sat up, the vision before me was pure eye candy. So gorgeous.

I stopped snorkeling a couple of times to drink some water and once to eat at the “snack” shop. I ordered the chicken fajitas. They were delicious. They ask that you wear a t-shirt there instead of using sunblock with chemicals in it. Even my all natural sunscreen had a prohibited active ingredient. I don’t actually have a t-shirt with me on this trip so there I was, almost high noon without any sun protection, but I had to go back in one last time, full stomach
SculpturesSculpturesSculptures

There were beautiful sculptures of the same style all over the laguna and throughout the wooded paths.
and all. If only for 15 minutes.

This place is definitely one of the most beautiful places I’ve been in the world.

An underwater picture someone else took - http://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-s/01/72/30/83/yal-ku-lagoon.jpg

NOTE: There are more pictures below the advertisement immediately under this text (seven pictures in total).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0757s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb