4


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Akumal
July 3rd 2010
Published: July 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday June 30th was a success. I returned to the pueblo with Antonio and interviewed a woman and her daughter. They weren't the best interviews because many of their answers were very brief but regardless, it helps. We ended up at a Mayan restaurant where I met a family who owns the place as well as works in the hotel industry. I hit the jackpot! Or is it 2 words.......Anyways, the owner was from Chicago and manages a hotel on the coast. His honest answers blew me away. I'm saving those details for my thesis. His wife is from Guerrero, one of the most beautiful places in Mexico, and she has worked in all the big resorts of Mexico. When I say resorts I mean "hubs" or destinations (terms used in my field), such as Cabo, Acapulco, Cancun, Playa, etc. She is my next interviewee. I also met her son, yes a cute guy who I returned the next day to spend some time with. Those details will be left out of this blog.

Thursday needs no explanation.

Friday July 2nd my newest godson was born in Chicago! He's perfect. I am reminded of the drawbacks of my dedication to studies. When school is your everything you sacrifice so much and at times it feels as if it's not worth it. I missed bdays, baby showers, weddings, bbqs, friends, family and huge milestones in their lives. My baby niece just started crawling and I'm here, my godson was born and I'm here, but I know that this will not last forever. I am enjoying it while I can because I know that in reality, I am very fortunate to live the lifestyle that I live. I study, I travel, I travel to study and explore. I still dream of National Geographic hiring my ass but in the meantime.............
I spent the day in Playa del Carmen visiting a doctor that I believe lacks the codes from the Department of Sanitation.......does Mexico have such codes? Good question. Steralized tools.....didn't see them, reused gown......check, receipt for my cash payment......none! I am reminded again why I love the United States in many ways. This would never happen.
Thanks to my super observant capabilities, walking the streets of Playa I noticed many things on my way to the grocery store: 1) streets certain directions are in increments of 5 (calle 5, 10, etc), 2) bitches walk around with no underwear or bra.....yes, I saw many in a next to naked dress, 3) someone was shot and their bloody remains were left on the street for some wild animal to lick up and this was normal.
I got back to the room after a backbreaking long walk with heavy groceries in extreme heat and somehow I lived. Everyday is becoming an adventure and I love that.

Saturday July 3rd I am writing a grant to fund the mapping of the underground cave systems aka cenotes. If you know nothing about cenotes you should. You need to. They are beautiful and becoming contaminated with the carelessness of mass tourism development. Busy day today, no tan yet and I have yet to step into the sea......

Advertisement



12th July 2010

take pics and kkep on writting

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb