Hola Queretaro!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Querétaro
January 3rd 2012
Published: January 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After my flight to Houston, Texas, I took a itsy bitsy little plane to Queretaro Airport (which is just a single room shed filled with scary Mexican customs officials by the way). As I came through the security screen a lady ran up and hugged me with a little love heart balloon that read "Anastacia" and was excitedly chatting to me in Spanish. It took a while to explain to her that I wasn't in fact Anastacia but Natasha... wrong host kid sorry!

Anyway... MY host mum wasn't there, so I took a taxi to their house which was probably a half hour drive. The taxi driver obviously realised I didn't speak ANY spanish and was a little disoriented and scared, so called the family on the way there and had them all wait outside to greet me which was cute =). Martha and her husband Juan are tiny and barely speak 10 words of English, so its been an interesting and overwhelming day! Within 5 minutes I had a huge plate of eggs and bread shoved in front of me with the cute little old lady sitting next to me saying "Eat! Too skinny!". Shortly after that I dragged myself upstairs to my bungalow and fell into a deep sleep until dinner.

After dinner I went for a drive with Juan to drop home his daughter Carolina, and her son Diego, and got a tour of Queretaro city (Centro or Downtown) on the way. There are several town squares with fountains and cafes, and the colonial architecture makes the area really beautiful.

So far I have managed to be constantly surprised and often amused by the local people here! Just in the ten minute car ride alone, I saw several people carrying bunches of a hundred helium balloons down the street, was stopped in the centre of the road for about 5 minutes (which noone seemed phased about) by a man loading 12 giant bouncy balls into his car in any place possible, and saw police riding around town on quad bikes... and that's just for a start..

The streets are lined with rainbow coloured cultural flags, exactly how you would imagine Mexico, or at least how I did, and there are lanterns and fairy lights visable over almost every yard wall. Noone seems to care about seat belts or road rules here (if there are any) so there were five of us piled across the front bench seat of Juan's ute... It's going to be a crazy few months!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb