From October to November


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Puebla » Cuetzalan
November 18th 2009
Published: November 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

PopocateptlPopocateptlPopocateptl

The sun setting behind popocateptl was amazing!
Hi everyone, So this blog has been on standby for a while as I have been waiting for the internet to be restored to my neighborhood and many houses in Puebla. A story came on the news a few days ago, about how the motherboards for Mega-cable had been robbed. Mega-cable provides cable, internet and telephone service to almost every house in the area and consequently the Internet cafes in the neighborhood. So as you can imagine, almost everyone is without internet. Although Puebla is an extremely modern and developed city there are always things like this to remind you how secure and organized things are in the US.

Well these past few weeks I have begun my classes at the Anglo. So far I have about four classes per week on average, which is about 20 hours per week, plus the 7 per week at the high school. I am having a great time with most of my classes which include; a group of 7-10 yr olds, a group of beginner 16-32 yr olds, an intermediate 16 yr old, and an intermediate 35 yr old who is the Regional Manager of DHL. Mom, dad, I will have to talk
Photo of Maria an d I Photo of Maria an d I Photo of Maria an d I

This one was thanks to Maria's younger brother.
to him next time you send me something. The groups are great and eager to learn since they are paying a good amount, the kids are my favorites. I have since rediscovered the joy of Simon Says. I also am continually learning rules, and parts of English of which I was never aware, so it is a rewarding job.

In other news I am still playing soccer twice a week which is very fun, but pretty cold right now. The team plays decently, but I mostly just try to have fun. In Puebla there has been an international arts festival for the past two weeks which was entertaining. The best part was all of the concerts and performances were free. Certain shows required tickets for entry which were free; you just had to wait in line for them. Luckily, Maria was attending an anthropology conference at the time in the building where the tickets were given out so we got to go to a few special plays and shows.

I forgot to update for the weekend of Dia de los Muertos. The festivities were high that weekend. Every bread shop was full of Pan de los Muertos and
OfferingsOfferingsOfferings

This is a non traditional offering that was located in the Palacio Municipal. It was packed.
there were ofrendas throughout the city. On Sunday Nov. 1st we went to a small town near Puebla which is known for its ofrendas and traditional Dia de los Muertos celebrations. This was pretty interesting and a bit relaxing also. Included are some great photos of the cemetery and church.

Last weekend we had Monday off, celebrating the Mexican revolution which is actually November 20th, but instead, the government moved it to have a long weekend. Maria and I went to a town called Cuetzalan which sits in the Sierra Norte about four hours north of Puebla, on the border of the state of Veracruz. Cuetzalan is a very mystic city. After climbing up the mountains on desolate winding roads for two hours, you arrive to a thick fog and the city of Cuetzalan. The city is built into the side of a mountain or valley (which ever you prefer) and I imagine was a fairly large indigenous city before the Spanish arrived. Today the city still maintains a lot of indigenous heritage and culture. The city uses roads paved with large stones, that have been smoothed over time by the passing of traffic and is maintained impressionably clean.
Same offeringSame offeringSame offering

Different angle of the same offering. Marigolds are the most common flowers used for Dia de los muertos
The center of the city contains a Zocalo but is nothing like that of the traditional Spanish style cities. The center serves as a market on the weekends, selling everything from fruits, veggies, tamales and tacos, to sombreros, woven baskets, toys made from acorns, and other crafts. The city is extremely economic as well. For an order of chalupas, molotes, tacos, tamales, or tostadas, the price was 5 pesos (35 cents). That with a fresh orange juice was 15 pesos.

The center also serves as an auditorium for los voladores de cuetzalan (The Cuetzalan flyers). This is an indigenous tradition involving an incredibly tall tree trunk stripped of its branches, four large ropes wound at the top of the tree, a rotating square frame on top and five brave men. (see pictures) The men do a ritual dance before climbing the tree. They then start climbing one at a time. Once on top, they sit one on each side of the square frame and begin to play a drum and some sort of wind instrument I couldn’t make out. One man stands on top of the trunk and begins jumping and dancing, at this moment they are praying to
La GrutaLa GrutaLa Gruta

This was a picture taken looking back up, as we entered an underground cave in Cuetzalan. The trip cost a whopping $3 for an hour and a half walk in the caves.
the four winds that they have a safe flight. Once they have prayed to each wind they begin fall backwards with the ropes secured and let them unwind and send them spiraling around the tree until they reach the ground, which takes about 2 min. As they are unwinding the last man, begins to slide down one rope on his own doing acrobatic dances along the way. I am not sure if I explained this well enough but I hope the pictures help. The sight was pretty incredible and could be seen from our hotel room a few times a day. The amazing thing about Cuetzalan is how with so much tourism and Spanish influence it keeps its traditions and heritage. It was definitely a good weekend.

The weather here is beginning to get cold, although nothing like Minnesota. The walk to school every morning at 645 now requires my wool socks. During the day though, it still gets very warm and I walk around with my sleeves rolled up and try not to sweat too much. People here are getting ready for Christmas and la navidad, I say both because it is true. The proximity and influence of
WaterfallsWaterfallsWaterfalls

The boy who brought us down the cave also offered the a group rate ($3) to bring us to a nearby water fall. We ended up going with an amazingly fit elderly couple.
the US is quite evident here during this time of year. The malls are filled up with Christmas trees and Santa just like up there.

I am looking forward to coming to San Diego in February to see you all (family, sorry to others you may have to wait till the summer). I hope everyone is doing well. I miss you all very much. I wish you the best of luck in whatever adventures you are taking on now. Remember I love to hear from you, although I am not the best blogger, I am eager to here news through email and quick to respond! It is always great to hear how you are all doing! Following are some specific wishes. Anyone who I have missed, don’t worry, if you are reading this you are close to my heart! Mom, dad I love you very much. Syd and Doreen, hope school is going well for both of you. David, Sophia, Tiana, Ron and Celeste and Justin good luck with school, love, life, work and everything else! PS, I would love any pictures you could send. Mr Swanberg, good luck in Arizona I know you are having a great time.
The crewThe crewThe crew

The valiant four who took the extra hour journey to the falls. Cost: $1.00
Carol, Dan, Ricky and Peter don’t let Favre get you down, he looked better in green.

Love and Miss you All
Jake




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

MeMe
Me

There are many waterfalls in Cuetzalan. However, some are very popular and touristy. We hiked about 15 min to find this one.
Voladores de cuetzalanVoladores de cuetzalan
Voladores de cuetzalan

The origins of the Voladores is disputed. The popular name is Voladores de Papantla but many Poblanos claim the dance originated in Cuetzalan. Unfortunately, the city of Papantla has copywritten the name for the ritual. In reality the two cities are very close, and they both use their own names anyways. This photo shows them unwinding/flying.
SkeletonsSkeletons
Skeletons

I thought these were great
One for the agesOne for the ages
One for the ages

Try and guess what the men are watching while the women work. :)


19th November 2009

Shmoo?
Excellent bloggage, Jacobo. Except one thing; Favre absolutely did NOT look better in Green. VIKES ARE GOIN ALL THE WAY BABY!!!
20th November 2009

Glad you are Happy!
Hi Jake-Nice to hear from you and that things are going much better. I am glad you enjoy the work and your students. Perhaps you can garner a reputation. We are doing just fine. My energy level is increasing and Betty is in veery good health. We are involved here in our community and the Church, play a lot of bridge and spent time on this machine;. Kerps our mind working. Please add john Ingham to your Blog site,groveingham@gmail.com. He did his doctoral work in a Community south east of Mexico city and I am sure would be interested in your work. We are looking forward to seeing you in Feb. Much love, Ed
20th November 2009

Happiness
Hi Jake, You look and sound really happy. I am really proud of you and the blog is great. Syd is going to Vegas for Thanksgiving, so I will be with Laura Lee and her friends. No snow yet, but the small ponds were covered with ice earlier this week. Be safe.
22nd November 2009

Jake!
Hey Jake - Thanks for the shout out! (I like David's expression: "Excellent bloggage.") All your blogs make me wish I was there - and so happy for this incredible, life-transforming experience you're having. You will value it forever. Do you need any pictures of Baby Sophia? Let me know. Love ya, kiddo, Celeste PS - I don't watch a lot of football but this Favre-becomes-a-Viking saga has been quite diverting!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb