Only One More Day


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Puerto Escondido
March 17th 2014
Published: March 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Monday, March 17, 2014

Not much exciting to tell except that TODAY is son DAVE's birthday and we wish he could be here with us to celebrate. I haven't seen anything in Puerto advertising green beer tonight, so St. Patricks Day will come and go for us with no fanfare.

Yesterday we went to town to the mercado one last time. We took our time and bought our produce and even looked at the clothes, decorative items, and junk. We thought it was the busiest we've ever seen it, Sunday is no day of rest for this town. Joe walked to the Point and we ate at another highly recommended restaurant, Bananas. Joe had the shrimp kabobs and I had traditional chili rellanos and we give the place five stars. The singer there was great, but not sure how many people in there were really interested in hearing Frank Sinatra oldies. Not us, for sure. We watched another lovely sunset from our table. That never gets old.

This morning, on our walk to the point we saw a huge sea turtle and we were excited till we realized it was dead. We ate at Cafe Ole, of course, and we shared the crepe and I had a mango smoothie.

Speaking of dead things, this afternoon I was lying on my back on an air mattress in the pool and eight vultures were circling above me. I kept watching them get lower and lower until they were so low it was spooking me out. I'm wondering if they thought I was a floating dead body. I have to say the minute I rolled off the mattress they flew away. A coincidence? I think not, they were checking me out.

Joe got another win at his last horseshoe tournament today. His partner was the best player there but Joe was happy with his games, too. There's no money involved on Monday, it's all for the glory.

We're on our way back to the Split Coconut for some music and fellowship.

Advertisement



18th March 2014

Pictures?
What, no pictures? Have surely enjoyed your trip....pictures have been great. Have a good trip back. Best.....Love, Lois
18th March 2014

No photos
Yes, I didn't take any photos in two whole days. Must mean it's time to leave. Thanks for reading the blog.
18th March 2014

Thanks for the great trip!!!!
Loved all the blogs.....was a great escape for us to join you on the trip. See you back in Prescott. Dave is itching for some golf with his buddy and we need to get to see your tans!!!! J&D
18th March 2014

Golf
I guessing Joe is ready for some golf, too. Looking forward to seeing you. Seems like we've been gone a long time.
18th March 2014

Vicarious?
Wish we could have been there, but have enjoyed the blogs. Today is Glo's birthday and the ground is covered with snow. Hope the car will make it to the main road so we can celebrate. Have a good trip home.
18th March 2014

Happy Birthday, Gloria!
Just last night I told Joe that we wouldn't be calling Gloria this year on her birthday, but we'll give you a call when we get home. Wouldn't you know, the weather in Prescott has been wonderful while we've been gone. It will probably snow when we get home, but that would be ok because we're grateful for any moisture we can get.

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb