Oaxaca


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
June 4th 2006
Published: June 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hola Amigos,
Welcome to my travel blog. I am in Oaxaca city for one more week. I came here because Amber is taking classes at a language institute. After being here for a day, I also decided to enroll in classes for a week. On Wednesday I moved in with my new family. They are so precious. Lupita and Jorge, my mamá and papá, are so sweet and Jorge gave me my first taste of mezcal (the father of tequila as I was told). I met Melisa and Brenda, two other students from the institute. Melisa is a badass from New York and unfortunately left to go back home today. Brenda is also badass and from Switzerland and very genuine and nice. I´m obsessed with my two new brothers Luisito and Maurico because they are so cute I want to eat them. I will soon post pictures of all my family.

Oaxaca is a beautiful, rich, and tranquil city. I didn´t know anything about it before arriving by bus last Tuesday morning. At 6am I found myself awestruck at the cheap food in the grocery store. I bought a carrot for less than 3 cents. The food here is much different that other parts of Mexico because it has more of a Mayan influence. Lots of vegetable and vegitarian options (yay for me!) and less use of lard. There is a very big health concious population here resulting in a few yoga studios and health food stores.

The night life here, like many other parts of Mexico is a tireless machine of nonstop music, drinking, and dancing. I have been out until 5 in the morning the last three nights. Thursday and Friday I spent the better part of my evening at Candela for salsa dancing. They have a live band that play a few songs, have some drinks, then play another set. The first night during their break I met all of the band members and found myself dancing on stage when they returned to play. Beers are normally 20 pesos (less than 2 bucks) and many bars run 2 for 1 specials. I´m gaining much knowledge of the popular club songs such as "pasame la botella" (pass me the bottle) and "nada eso fue un error" (none of this was a mistake). They also love playing "I will Survive." Seeing drunk Mexicans sing this song always widens my smile.

It has been so nice spending time with Amber and experiencing a new culture with her. I could live in Oaxaca if it weren´t 6 hours away from the beach. After this week fate has somewhere else in store for me. I have a general feeling of working my way back up the coast (saving Central and South America for another trip). As always, I hope everyone is in good health and I will be posting things on this site more frequently this week as internet is less than 80 cents an hour. Viva vida!

Advertisement



7th June 2006

Como va?
Hola hijita - como es la escuela? Ayer fue mi ultimo dia de la escuela. Hicimos una obra y fue una diversion fantastica! Este es una manera buena para comunicar. Te quiero. Dale mi amor a Amber. XXOO El miercoles, 7 de junio a las 10:30 por la manana.
8th June 2006

Mezcal
Did you try the Mezcal seasoning salt with each shot? If not you have to! Glad you made it from Acapulco. I am still recovering.
9th June 2006

a girl after my own heart
I want to know, Did you eat the worm? I have a few of my own stories of Mezcal and Mexico! Yours sound great! Enjoy, This is your life!!!
11th June 2006

Hola chiquita: Que tan buenas experiencias! Me hace feliz que estas viajando y aprendiendo del mundo. Me encontre a tus padres en Morro Bay y son muy simpaticos. Tenga una vacacion divertida! Cuando vas a regresar a trabajar? hahaha.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb