Orientation Week madness


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Nuevo Leon » Monterrey
January 15th 2009
Published: January 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Alright so it's offically been a day over a week in Mexico, and I'm sorry for no pictures or videos yet, i'm still working on it. So an overview of what's been going on and what not.

Day one: I arrive in Monterrey from my flights having met about 5 people in my program, who all seemed and are very nice and awesome. We were driven to Tec (Tecnológico de Monterrey) and got our welcome packets which came in some very cool mexican blanket bags. We then signed in and they called our host families. It took a while for my host dad to pick me up because he came about right when i got there and they told him that i had not arrived yet. 8) Can you believe it how do you miss me, oh well. He eventually came back and picked me up. So I went home and met the family. There's Vicky Guimond (my Host mom), Sergio Guimond (my Host dad), Luis Guimond (my Host brother at home), Sergio Guimond again (my other Host brother who lives about 30 min away), Sergio's wife and daughter Bebe. They are absolutely awesome! I couldn't have asked for a better family to live with while i stayed here. So the family only talks to me in spanish as to help me get better at it and i am supposed to have a roommate but still have not heard anything about him arriving and it's already been the first week of school.

Days two through whatever i say: I went through orientation last week which was fine we had different speakers and presentations and informational meetings. I met about 2 billion people through these meetings and what not. Then I believe it was saturday the school hosted a party at a club for us. It was pretty cool, if you bought two bottles of Vodka which amounted to about $130 USD (split between 10-15 people is not too bad) then you got a table (which was much better because the place was so crowded). I did not drink however #1 because i didn't really care yet and #2 I couldn't with the pills i was taking - when i arrived i thought i just had a "gas bubble" in my chest, but it turns out that i had an inflamed esophagus from horrible indigestion, but all is better now. Anyways I had a ton of fun at the club and then sunday I went to church with my Host family. They got to take home a cross from the church for the week (It's an Honor) and then we went to lunch at a buffet. At lunch there was a mariachi band playing and they were great! After Lunch they took me on a "little" tour of the south part of town (it's like five times larger than back home).

Monday was the first day of classes for the school but not for me because i only have classes Tuesdays and Thursdays. So I started Tuesday and I think that my semester (class-wise) will be pretty okay, my semester otherwise, i just don't know how to explain the excitement I have. So today, Thursday I got done with class and instead of going out tonight, like some I am sitting in my room writing on my blog. Also, I'll probably go to another club tomorrow and Saturday downtown to check out stuff.

So I'll Post pictures soon and I'll see if i can't get the video stuff to work but I hope that everyone is doing well and well look forward to more posts!

Con todo que lo tengo, Que te vayan con Dios,

Beto

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb