First Days in Cuernavaca


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Cuernavaca
June 7th 2011
Published: June 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It's been a hectic few days! I arrived on Sunday afternoon in Mexico City and after buying some lotion and a SIM card for my phone I met with my driver. He actually had a sign with my name on it, just like in the movies!! So before we began to drive, he made the sign of the cross. He made it again before we got on the freeway and I could see why he did with the wild driving that goes on in Mexico. It's dangerous because people drive really fast and pedestrians DO NOT have the right of way. I'm starting to get a complex every time I have to cross the street.

Anyway, my host family is excellent. I have a guest room and bath all to myself...at least for now. Rumor has it that another student is supposed to come. We'll see how that works.

My school, Escuela Kukulcan, is pretty good. There is only one other student in my first class of the day and she can speak Spanish but I don't feel intimidated. If there is something I don't know, it gets explained to me. And for my other class, which is conversation, it 's all right. There is one girl who talks so much it's annoying, but there are people like that all over so I get used to it!!

Today, we made Sopes which was nice. I think I will try to make it at home. And in the evening, my roommate and I went to the Zocalo, where the Palacio de Cortes is located and the Cathedral as well. We ate at Marco Polo, an Italian restaurant that my host father says is the best in town, and had a magnificent view of the cathedral and mountains.

Until Next Time! Hasta Luego!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb