El Canadiano VS Mexico: Round One!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
May 3rd 2010
Published: May 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I am officially in Mexico!! It's a little bit strange and I was initially a lot of bit freaked out, but I made it!!

In all the planning and anticipation for this trip, I don't think it ever really hit me what exactly I was about to do. That is, take on Guadalajara all by myself for 6 weeks!!! The moment of clarity came after clearing security in the airport ... all of the sudden I was fully aware that:

A) I was in Mexico
B) ALL BY MYSELF
C) That my spanish is pretty crappy!!!

I'm not going to lie ... it took a lot for me not to cry upon realizing this!! I beelined past all the "Senorita! Taxi?!!" and headed for the bathroom so I could regroup and come up with a game plan, which was "take a taxi to my host families house."

After getting into a taxi ... I just sat there, fully aware of my situation, and completely freaked out. It's a lot different not travelling with my boy, I think that's probably what got me the most, the whole "being alone in Mexico" thing. I know people do it all
La Casa de Kristena!! La Casa de Kristena!! La Casa de Kristena!!

My home for the next 5 weeks!!
the time, but ... I've never been anywhere by myself, so this is huge!! My driver was trying so hard to be friendly and to talk to me, but my mind was concentrating on not crying (haha, I'm a wimp, I know) and on taking in what was going on. I spoke with my host family last weekend, so they were expecting me, but it's still just really weird to show up on a strangers doorstep in Mexico.

We pulled up at a house and my driver says "ok, aqui." I didn't want to get out of the taxi! The house looked nice enough, but was surrounded by a big locked gate and it didn't look like anyone was home! I don't know what I was expecting, maybe someone standing on the sidewalk waiting for me, or balloons that said "Bienvenido Kristena!" - just anything that would tell me that I was at the right place! We rang the door bell and a man looked down from the upstairs window and I didn't know what to say so I just yelled "Hola! Me Ilamo Kristena!" The CUTEST little Mexican lady comes and opens the gate saying "Si si si,
Senor y SenoraSenor y SenoraSenor y Senora

Such a sweet couple!
Kristena, si si si!" She gave me a huge hug and a big kiss ... and then took my hand and lead me inside the house saying "come, come Kristena." We went up the stairs into a room, where she points the bed and says "Sit. Stay Kristena." So, I sit. And stay. In a strangers house. On her bed. In Mexico. A little bit awkward, but I want to be polite so I do as I am told. She clears off the bed, the whole time chatting away in spanish and I'm just staring at her and staring at the room and smiling and nodding and saying "Si si, gracias" because I don't know what is going on or what else to say. I hope you're picturing this moment for me, LOL! It turned out that she wanted me to lay down and sleep while waiting for my room to be ready. Though I was totally uncomfortable, I managed to fall asleep but then woke myself up thinking "Holy shit, I'm sleeping on a strangers bed in a house in Mexico. Remember this moment!!" It really was sweet of her to be so considerate and to want me to
Something Something Guadalajara!Something Something Guadalajara!Something Something Guadalajara!

(I don't actually know what the sign says, lol, but I get the Guadalajara part!)
be so comfortable right away in her home, but in the moment, I was as awkward and uncomfortable as could be!


The couple that I am staying with are absolutely adorable!!! I definitely like them! They've been married for 52 years (FIFTY TWO YEARS!) His name is Humberto and he's 84. Her name is Alejandrina and she's 75; it's like I have my very own Mexican grandparents! They're incredibly sweet and kind and make a HUGE fuss over me, calling me their 'nieta,' which is granddaughter in spanish. It's pretty cute. And they squeeze my cheeks a lot. :D Their son Geraldo also lives with them and his daughter Sophia who is 7 is here often. She's a spunky little kid. On my first night when I was eating dinner she came in and was just chatting away in Spanish, but I just stared at her and smiled a lot because I had no idea what she was saying. I think that's going to be my vice here, just smile and nod, smile and nod. And when in doubt, say "Si, si, gracias!" I've lucked out with a room to myself that is HUGE and has it's own
Oh, The Backpack Again Oh, The Backpack Again Oh, The Backpack Again

I still hate it!
bathroom! This pleases me!

My first (and second) official Mexican meals were very interesting! I am a vegetarian, but in the interest of being respectful, polite, and culturally sensitive, I plan to eat what I am offered. This will be a huge struggle for me, because I can be a pretty picky eater, but I am determined to be gracious guest in their home! Friday night for dinner I had arroz (rice) with homemade salsa and some sort of pescado (fish) with a celery sauce. It was actually pretty yummy! Every time I finished though, Alejandrina just kept bring more food to my plate. Fruit, salad, crackers ... I ate SO much! I definitely need to learn how to say that I'm full!! Saturday morning for breakfast was even better ... the night before I told them that I like to eat "mucho fruta" (lots of fruit), so when I came down for breakfast she handed me an orange. Then a banana. Then a mango. Then a plate of eggs with salsa. Then frijolles (beans). Then she cut another orange for me. Then another mango. Then she wanted to give me a bun with ham on it and some
Mi Cuatro! Mi Cuatro! Mi Cuatro!

I definitely lucked out! It's big and I don't have to share!!
tortillas. I politely turned down the bun and the tortillas because I was super full after the first mango! She was sad and kept saying "Nieta, tu necisitas mas comida!" (You need to eat more food) and I was trying to be gracious but was saying "Muchas gracias, pero no puedo comer mas comida!" (Thank you, but I can't eat more food!). I don't even think a grown man could have eaten all that food! I definitely definitely definitely need to learn the polite way to turn down food, or I will be returning to Canada in 6 weeks as a mucho grande chica!

The first couple of days were a bit hard for me, I guess just with culture shock and the language barrier and not having my sidekick (Trevor) ... but today was much better and I feel like I'm adjusting. Alejandrina and Humberto really don't speak much English and that which they do know, they'd prefer not to use because it's better for me to learn Spanish if I'm immersed in it. And immersed I certainly am!!! I still stare and smile a lot, but I am actually pretty amazed at how much I'm picking up
Mi BanoMi BanoMi Bano

All for meeee :D
when it's my only option. We have entire conversations in Spanish; mine of course is hopelessly broken, but I think I get an "E" for effort anyways! And my meals are balancing out a little bit more, I am still served much more than I can handle, but I think that Alejandrina is realizing that I don't eat like a trucker. And I am trying to be mindful of how hospitable she is being and that this really is just a part of their culture (to be so generous with food). :D This morning when I came down for breakfast she was coming in the door with a huge cart of fresh fruta (fruit), for me, because she knows I like it so much. How cute is that???

Today I ventured out into the downtown area to explore and found the big twin towered cathedral. I'm not much of one for appreciation of architecture, but it was beautiful. And ... haha ... I also happened to "crash" a wedding while I was there. So funny. Picture me, clearly a foreigner, completely out of place, sitting in the aisle side of a pew with my camera videotaping as the bride
Best Alarm System in the World?Best Alarm System in the World?Best Alarm System in the World?

I wish I had dog that ran around on my roof scaring people to death. I swear he was going jump ...
comes through. :D I amuse myself! I stayed for the whole ceremony, more of out of curiosity than anything, and I even gave money at the end (haha, because that's what everyone else was doing and I didn't want to stand out!) The one really big difference I noticed with this wedding versus ones back home is that here, people dress to the nines! All of the ladies were completely dolled up in fancy cocktail/prom dresses and the men were in suit and tie. I'm thinking that maybe this was a socialite wedding, because everyone was seriously just so formal and looked so elegant and were oozing social status. This of course, made the contrast of the foreign girl in her 'Vancouver 2010' t-shirt and capris stand out a little bit more, but I still thought it was funny. Now if only I spoke enough spanish to sing along with the hymns ... :D

I don't have many photos from my first few days, but I hope to take more soon. Tomorrow is my first day of school. Wish me luck!





Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

La IglesiaLa Iglesia
La Iglesia

Right down the street from my house, I could hear people singing :)
El Super Tako!El Super Tako!
El Super Tako!

Taco stands are on the streets here like Pad Thai stands are in Bangkok. I'm going to love it!
La Universidad de GuadalajaraLa Universidad de Guadalajara
La Universidad de Guadalajara

... but not where I'll be studying ... this is for the real students. I get to go to the foreign kid building :D
La Universidad de Guadalajara - CEPELa Universidad de Guadalajara - CEPE
La Universidad de Guadalajara - CEPE

... this is where the foreign kids go, until we can speak enough spanish to go the big kid school (definitely not happening on this trip!)
Centro MagnumCentro Magnum
Centro Magnum

This mall is right down the street from my house ... hello Starbucks for my walk to school!! :D
El CatedralEl Catedral
El Catedral

With a mini indigenous artisans market out front.
Bride and Groom Bride and Groom
Bride and Groom

Right after I took this I could see a little "Who are you?" register on their faces :D
I found Caroline! I found Caroline!
I found Caroline!

Literally, we passed each other on the street! Here she's showing off her first official purchase in Mexico, a box of Nature Valley granola bars we can buy in Canada. Haha


3rd May 2010

Enjoy!
I was in Guadalajara just over a year ago, had a great time, and fell in love with Mexico. I too was a bit overwhelmed at first, and overfed by sweet families, but learned to relax a bit and took just fine to a high fruit diet. It's a lot of fun to see your photos - I remember that elephant!!! Best wishes and enjoy! ~annabellepk
3rd May 2010

Bienvenida
Kristena. Pásatela muy bien. Dile a la señora Alejandrina: Normalmente no como mucho. Le agradezco su atención. }That means: Usually,I don´t eat much. I thanks your concern.You can ask for Pasta . Is the same in spanis or spagetti, papas or potatoes, vegetales:vegetables. The weddings in México are like that. About the money you gave at Church is because in catholic churches we gave some money to help to do some charity with the poor people or the orphan children or something else. Don´t worry. Saluda al Señor Humberto y a la Señora Alejandrina de mi parte. Will keep in touch.
3rd May 2010

Hola!
Way to go fellow Canadian girl!! I too homestay in Mexico by myself (see my entry "Habla Espanol? Claro!" It will be the best experience you can have, and I don't know why they think us Canadians eat so much! Guad is a great cultural and historic place to learn Spanish! Buen suerte amiga = Andrea aka Cabochick
23rd February 2011
La Universidad de Guadalajara - CEPE

urge aprender espanol
me interesa el programa donde puedo tener informacion

Tot: 0.33s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 31; qc: 116; dbt: 0.1964s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb