Back At The Casa Del Puente in Acapulco


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guerrero » Acapulco
August 31st 2011
Published: September 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

the villathe villathe villa

my room
I just got back from spending 6 weeks in Acapulco. Most of July and august 2011
I found myself heading to Acapulco again. I could not wait to get back to that unique climate I missed so much. I figured that I would stay in Caleta. That is the traditional area of Acapulco made famous by Hollywood actors like the "rat pack". I really like the Caleta area for its proximity to the ocean and its beautiful rock formations. I decided to stay at a house on the ocean named the Casa del Puente. A house that was built in the 1940s in true mexican architecture. A place where I could find real tranquility. Something I needed after being out on the streets being subject to all the traffic noise. I finally made it up the rocky road to my bungalow over looking the ocean. I had a few coronas by the pool and then crashed for a while. I was tired from the early wake up in order to make my flight.
I did not wake up until the next morning. But when I got up I looked out side and noticed the sail boat races out
zocalo eatszocalo eatszocalo eats

enchiladas de mole
front. That was nice. Later, I decided to check out the house. What a place! This house was in the original Tarzan series and it's the place JFK spent his honeymoon with Jacqueline Bouvier's back in Sept. 1953. I think numerous other old mexican movies were filmed here. I walked down the stairs to cross the drop swing bridge and wandered down until I was close enough to jump into the ocean.
Over the next few days I hung around the zocalo enjoying traditional mexican cuisine. I had great enchiladas de mole and enchiladas suizas. Did I say I had some more coronas and a margarita or 2...
One one of my nights I headed out for some tasty tacos at Tacos Tumbras. I ordered the sirloin platter and was not disappointed. Strips of sirloin steak with fresh charro beans. Though I think my favorite place was Ika Tako down in La Base area. They have great sea food tacos. From there I met some other foreigners and hooked up with some new friends. We talked for a while at the Barba Roja bar on La Condesa. They convinced me to go to a disco. We went to
iguana babyiguana babyiguana baby

found this critter in my room
Classico but I don't remember much. Too many coronas but I think I had a great time. Thank god the taxi driver got me home safely and knocked on the door so that the house manager, Don Lorenzo, could help me to my room.
One of my funnest past times is surfing. On the mornings I was able to get up early I headed to the Bonfil beach for some surf action. Sometimes the Princess is good as well.
Overall I had a great time. I will always remember my times at the Casa del Puente chasing all those iguanas down and taking in the beautiful sunsets. Any one interested in staying at this famous old house can check it out. I met the owner years ago and says he now rents out rooms. Look for it on the viviun.com rental web site. or through the swissdivers.com



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

sail boatssail boats
sail boats

the races
surfingsurfing
surfing

the bonfil
viewview
view

my spot


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb