forever 21


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato » Guanajuato
February 9th 2009
Published: March 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

ISA CAKEISA CAKEISA CAKE

My cake at the isa office. Sorry I look so frumpy on my birthday.
First off, I can't believe I'm 21! Seriously?? Time goes by so fast. Life goes by too fast. I don't turning 21 was going to be kind of weird in Mexico. 21 is not a big deal at all here, but it turned out to be pretty amazing.

The International Studies Abroad (ISA) office had a cake for me and everyone sang happy birthday. Here in Mexico, there is a custom to bite into the cake after singing. I guess it is supposed to be good luck, but sometimes people shove your face into the cake. So maybe it isn't really good luck.

I had 4 cakes on my birthday. One from ISA. Three from my house. My host family had this big lunch for me, where some friends came too. My family made a cake out of gelatin, a tres leches cake(which is delicious and my favorite), and this sounds weird, but a HUGE meat cake. The meat cake is essentially a meat loaf, but in a bunt cake shape. It sounds kind of weird, but it was really good. Did I mention that my host brother is in culinary school, and hopes to become a chef? I
Roberto y Julia Roberto y Julia Roberto y Julia

My host neice & nephew on my birthday with me
posted some awesome pics of my food. I would be jealous if I were you! haha.

Later, I went out with some friends and took it pretty easy. Nothing big really goes on Mondays here in GTO. I still had fun though.

I also got the best present from Emily and Lauren ever. It was a box filled with 21 things. I seriously almost cried. It was probably one of the most thoughtful and nice present anyone has ever gotten me. I was really happy to see it in the mail! Yay. Thanks so much guys.

Until next time guys.

Love,
Nancy



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

DaniellaDaniella
Daniella

Dani and I before my bday lunch
JesusJesus
Jesus

My host brother chef after cooking an amazing meal!!!!!
My host momMy host mom
My host mom

My host mom fatima and i
the delicious meat cakethe delicious meat cake
the delicious meat cake

yeah it was wrapped in bacon and pineapple.
betitobetito
betito

he's seriously adorable.
cake number 3cake number 3
cake number 3

tres leches
:):)
:)

gelatin cake


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb