25 things about Mexico and I


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato » Guanajuato
February 8th 2009
Published: February 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I haven't updated in awhile....sorry for being a slacker! So...there's been this huge 25 things about me trend on facebook. I'm supposed to write 25 things about me, but I think I'll just use this opportunity to update you all.

1. I am loving Mexico. The food, the houses, the buildings, the streets, the weather, the people, and of course all the puppies.
2. Yesterday I went to San Miguel de Allende and these AWESOME hot springs....I SWAM IN HOT SPRINGS OUTSIDE IN FEB. I seriously love my life sometimes.
3. I didn't like San Miguel de Allende as much as Ciudad Guanajuato. Too many Ex-piats and less cool. I love where I live.
4. MY 21st birthday is tomorrow...and I'm going on a bar crawl with some friends...in MEXICO.
5.The thing I least like about Mexico is all the stray dogs. It makes me sad to see all this dogs without homes and care.
6. School is going well. I like my classes, and all of my professors are really awesome. I'm taking a history of Mexico course, but we are focusing on the indigenous peoples of Mexico and Meso-America...and I love it.
7.My Spanish is getting a little better. I can barely tell if I'm learning anything. I still struggle sometimes.
8. I decided that I liked Chorizo (a type of mexican sausage) this morning during breakfast.
9. My host nephew, Betitio would not finish his homework and my Senora was getting super frustrated...so i bribed him with a game. I told him whoever finished first would win ice cream. So I bought him ice cream after he finished. It was funny.
10. Tourism is a popular major for university students here. Interesting huh?
11. A Law degree can be completed in 3 years here. GRR. I would so be a lawyer by now.
12. Culture shock has occurred to me. For example...on a 1 and half hour bus ride that I took from Leon to Guanajuato, they shoved so many people in the bus. LIKE SO MANY. The aisle was filled completely and there was no breathing room. Think CTA/the el in Chicago during rush hour except for an hour and a half. I have also seen people drink alcohol while driving....on more then one occasion. This would never fly in the States.
13. I'm considering going to Tikal in Guatemala for spring break. Tikal is a city with Mayan ruins..... YAY.
14. Haha...it's officially my birthday in Michigan as I write this sentence.
15. Everything has chile and lime on it here. My taste buds love it. My stomach is ready to kill me.
16. I got one of those typical hippie poncho hoodies.
17. I watched Bride wars today with Spanish subtitles at the Mega, which is like a mini mall here. It made me miss my best friends at home.
18. My host brother is a chef, and he is making me a cake tomorrow for my birthday. I think a tres leches cake. yum yum yum.
19. I went to this totally overly classy club in Leon a few nights ago...and they carded. My friends who who were also Americans got rejected at the rope thing, because they didn't have an id...I thought that only happened on TV.
20. My favorite food here is from this quesadilla stand that doesn't open until 9:30 at night and costs 11 pesos per quesdadilla. it's amazing. way better then taco bell.
21. I have a teacher who asks if I got a Mexican boyfriend yet....every time I have his class. I say no every time and he continues to ask why.
22. hot dogs, popcorn, and potato chips are really popular here. Except they put hot sauce on all of these things.
23. The city I went to called Leon has a billion shoes. All kinds of shoes and leather for very cheap. I tried to buy a pair but I got overwhelmed by the amount of possibilities.
24. There's scorpions here. I'm scared they'll get into my clothes and sting me.....
25. Oh I went to a circus in leon!

I'm having a ton of fun, learning a lot about Mexico and myself. It's a beautiful place. You should come visit. Lots of love.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

churchchurch
church

this church was in the movie once upon a time in mexico.


11th February 2009

i'm still jealous
11th February 2009

and send me some REALLY hot hotsauce
17th March 2009

howdy
hey Nancy! i haven't checked out the blog in a while and just thought i'd stop and say hi. Marquette misses you - it's been beautiful here the past few days. hope all's well! -much love!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb