Guanajuato: Part 2


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato » Guanajuato
April 28th 2008
Published: April 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Don Quixote MuseumDon Quixote MuseumDon Quixote Museum

I love the colors!
DAY TWO: SUNDAY

Sunday was way more chill. We got up and had a (free) brunch- pancakes, eggs, syrup, MEXICAN HOT CHOCOLATE, coffee, fresh fruit, beans and tortillas. Then it was time to go to a Don Quixote museum- at first I thought "What? Why are we going to a Don Quixote museum?? Wasn't he Spanish?? Random!" But it was AMAZING. Some of the coolest art I'd ever seen. So many styles, hundreds of paintings, all of Don Quixote. I had no idea he had inspired so many! I knew that Dante's Inferno has inspired the most art of anything else (except maybe the Bible), but it seems like Don Quixote is a close second. We weren't supposed to take pictures but I couldn't help myself. I loved it. I could have stayed there for hours. I'm getting nostalgic for it already. If there was one like it here in Morelia I would go every day.

Then we went to the mummy museum- apparently they buried people in the plaza in the late 1800s and somehow that mummified them- they don't know why or how! so all these bodies have hair, skin, clothes, shoes, teeth- everything!! They are all
Don Quixote MuseumDon Quixote MuseumDon Quixote Museum

A huge mural covering an odd-shaped ceiling
ages and class, and if they weren't claimed by their families they are exhibited there in the museum. I kept thinking that they would much rather be buried in the ground, or cremated, or whatever is their custom, but at the same time I wanted to see it all. It was sad and interesting and creepy and cool all at the same time.
On the way back from the mummies museum, we were at the top of a tall hill waiting for the bus. All of a sudden, we see a huge group of people coming up the bottom of the hill! And they have whips! And are cracking them! They are as loud as fire crackers. As they get closer, we see a cowboy, a few devils, men in drag, a marching band, and Jesus!!! They are carrying Jesus on a huge cross full of flowers up this huge hill. It was the craziest pilgrimage I've seen yet, but I'm told they get crazier.

There are only three main streets in Guanajuato, and the drivers are so chill! I didn't hear anyone honk, and if a bus or some car stopped, the others behind it just waited
Don QuixoteDon QuixoteDon Quixote

Much more flattering depiction, and a more realistic style
patiently. And we could cross the street at any time and they would stop for us.

Besides the Don Quixote museum, the other highlight of my weekend was LUCHA LIBRE!!!! We just read an article on it for culture class, about how it has changed along with Mexican history, how its involved in politics, class, race, everything... and I got to see it! We were walking to meet some friends at a bar, and saw a Plaza full of people- I mean, full! Every seat was taken and tons of people standing. We walked closer to see what it was, and saw a wrestling ring with four luchadores- two masked and two unmasked. It was so much fun! The people were yelling at the luchadores, the luchadores were yelling at each other, the announcer was yelling, and they were throwing each other around. Obviously, its all fake wrestling but has that ever mattered? I was in heaven and didn't want to leave.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Parade for Jesus!Parade for Jesus!
Parade for Jesus!

The leader of the parade, a cowboy with a scary whip!
Parade for Jesus!Parade for Jesus!
Parade for Jesus!

Drag queens for Jesus!
Parade for Jesus!Parade for Jesus!
Parade for Jesus!

Jesus gets carried up the hill
MummiesMummies
Mummies

Mummy Woman... they said their mouths were open not due to the way they died but because the way the fluids left the body... I guess?
MummiesMummies
Mummies

Baby Mummies
MummiesMummies
Mummies

All lined up


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb