Mexico City: day three


Advertisement
Published: March 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

A lot of Frida's work A lot of Frida's work A lot of Frida's work

Is about womanhood
Another beautiful day in Mexico City. I've made it back to my room just in time to best a wicked-lovely rain storm and to settle in before I catch my plane tomorrow.



Today I started off into Casa Azule, Frida Kahlo's house where she lived with Diego, hosted Trotsky and painted much of her work. You know by now that I tend to get a bit weepy when I find myself in a place I've dreamed of visiting. My eyes welled up with tears the whole visit. She was so much more prolific than I had fully realized and the Mexican people are rightly proud of her. I love folk art, I like the soft edges, imperfection and rawness you find within.



After the museum I went to the San Jacinto Bazaar where I was able to walk around and see some of the best art in the world being sold by local vendors. They have this long, winding bazaar like area where you can shop, catch some amazing juevos rancheros, buy a Couple souvenirs (only a couple, sorry familia!) and overall just enjoy a fun day. In the pictures you'll see a little bird
I likeI likeI like

The statement behind me
picking me out my fortune, which I've yet to translate, but I hope it has good news for me. I have caught several street performances, but the best show so far has been this marching band playing loud and proud in the Subway. It put some really good energy in the crowd. One thing I have noticed though is that most souvenirs are really priced comparable to what you'd find in the US, just something to be aware of if you're on a budget in the city.

If you look closely enough you will see shrines to the Virgin all around the city. Simple in presentation, they are a beautiful spiritual reminder, no matter your inclination. I was able to find the Museum el Carmen, an old convent in the area. Of course, the pretty parts were barred, but the outside view was spectacular. I also got to try some, well it was sorta like gelato, mango, with some chili sauce on top. Holy eff it was good! At first I couldn't figure out the red stuff on top, but me gusta!

After that I caught a regular bus (they don't have chicken buses like down in Guate, but I guess they get the job done!), then the Metro, and voila, I'm home and well within my budget.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Similar toSimilar to
Similar to

One of her paintings
Juevos rancherosJuevos rancheros
Juevos rancheros

I think, anyway it was great
The birdieThe birdie
The birdie

Pics a fortune for you after you buy it a little feed.
Clown attack! Clown attack!
Clown attack!

They were cheering on traffic, lotsa fun


Tot: 0.353s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb