The Summer Part 1 and 2


Advertisement
Published: August 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

Hope your summer holidays are treating you well. I hear the weather full on sucks in the UK...eek!

It's been a while...mainly because I've been busy sunning myself and the like. Hah. Well, term 3 at school passed in a flash due to end of term (and prior to that beginning of term and middle of term) madness! I can't actually believe that I've been living in Caracas for a whole year. Or that I'm going back for another year. This is the first time in my short (4 year) teaching career where I'll not only be returning to the same school (SHOCK) but to the same continent! Whooooo! Mixed feelings about that at the moment but I am glad to be going back into the same stage in the same school and not have to learn a whole new curriculum/school/stage for the first time. Might mean I have a grip on things this year...

Anyway. Having said goodbye to what could possibly be my most difficult class to date (but then, there's only been 4) and depositing Bob and Bee to their respective summer homes - for those who are interested, Bob is spending the summer with Señor Juan and Señora Roquelina who are the caretakers at my school! He is very happy running around the cancha, I am assured by the office staff. Bee is staying with my cleaner and will be getting thoroughly spoiled. Anyway, off I went to the mayhem that is Caracas Airport...and it doesn't improve with more frequent visits. However, onto Mexico without any problems and off to see my big sis and Caz! Hooray! A delightful stay in a 5 star establishment in Playacar was just fine thank you. Gorgeous weather, incredible blue seas, lots of activities every day (mainly eating and drinking) and... A BIG SHOW every night. What more could you ask for? Nothing, I say. Lovely to spend time with my sister without any little people (that belong to us) running around. We went on a couple of trips...neither of which we´d recommend. Xcaret is a sort of theme park I guess where we swam with dolphins and were utterly disillusioned with it. Not cool in captivity. Just not cool. We also did a fake cave swim thing. Cold and a bat flew at my face. Needless to say, not enjoyable! We went on a half day trip to see some Mayan ruins at Tulum. All fine and dandy in print...not so when it's blistering heat and the guide just won't shut up. Anyway, nothing wrong with a wee bit culture.

And so to Florida for the big surprise. I did not enjoy that wee hop, skip and a jump flight and would have felt safer, quite frankly, hopping, skipping and jumping there myself! Got me a wee car at the airport (EVERYTHING IS SO EASY OUTSIDE OF VENEZUELA!) and off I zoomed in Mazda 2 to surprise my family. Hooray. Eilish first (cue tears), Daddy and wee ones next (didn{t really know what had hit him), Sus last (cue more tears). Haha. It was a lovely, lovely holiday. Fantastic to spend so much time with the family just chiling and such. Obviously I went to Harry Potter and it was AMAZING! Going to have to finish this another time...getting evil looks from person waiting for interweb.

Currently in Flores, Guatemala, heading to Rio Dulce tomorrow.

Catcha on the flipside.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb