rhythm in the blood vs taste of beer in the mouth


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Colima » Comala
December 4th 2010
Published: December 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Mexicans defineatly have figured out the party situations, while I feel having grown up with the taste of beer in my mouth they defineatly have rhythm in their blood. Apart from much tastier things to drink than beer, I just say ponche and agua loca (drink of the devil if you ask me). I was introduced to banda, the mexican folclore. Asking how to dance to it I was told you just have to feel it. Yeah right, me feeling latino music. A glass of agua loca changed this, or at least I didnt care anymore and so we danced away through the night. Wherever you go you hear banda or some kind of mexican music, non of that gringo shit. At the moment the favs are shakiras loca loca loca and we no talk americano...

I went to two parades. first the celebration of 100 years mexican revolution in colima. It was a saturday morning and with a lot of luck we managed to get a taxi to town. The parade had just begun, pretty much everyone who can walk is in it, high schools (private and public) random shops and employers, gold medal winners, old people, young kids, banda, dancers. Most of the time the girls are dancing and the boys are just too cool for school. Traditional costumes (defineatly a winner), or shakira fueld cheerleaders, you got it all. People are selling tuba (sort of a palmtree juice) on the street. It was very hot but felt instantly better when I saw a guy running around in a star costume.

Later, I went to Comala to see a horse parade. I had bought a sombrero some days before to fit in a bit better, but I didnt have the jeans, boots, shirts and mexican awesomeness. So again I was the tourist, getting used to it a bit but every now and then a very cute mexican girl smiling at me, so it is not too bad. Now if I could just speak some spanish.

The horse parade was around the main square, banda playing in the middle. I had never seen guys dancing with there horses, I cant even dance on my own two legs. The huge volcanoes of Colima were towering in the distance. This is the next thing I want to go to. Made friends with some geologist who are volunteering on the volcanoe setting up equipment etc. I almost talked them into taking me up there for a 5 day field trip. Well I think I might just have to come back for that soon.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb