Daily Living in San Cristobal De Las Casas Day 28


Advertisement
Published: January 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day 28:Very cold this morning about 47F. Made coffee and went up to my rooftop terrace. The impressive mountains were veiled in fog, it is very cold and humid this morning. Still I managed to put on some warm clothes a comfortable pair of walking shoes and walked to the Mercado.

As I walked through, I could not help but notice how clean and well organized the vendor stalls were. The colors, smells and lanscape really are an attack on all your senses. The stalls have a variety of animal carcasses on display varying from pigs, cows and others that I did not recognize. Everything you can imagine is sold here.

I purchased salt dried fish from the interior Mercado. The mountains of fish are packed 8 feet high in some stalls. They sell tiny smelts, sardines and huge fish. I got a chicken without the feet. The feet freak me out. I also got assorted beans some I recognized others that I did not. I have some small mustard colored beans soaking for dinner as we speak. The vegetables are very fresh and neatly displayed. The prices are very good. Tomatoes were about 3 pesos a kilo, onions about 5 pesos a kilo, beans 10 pesos per kilo. Chard 10 pesos for a very nice sized bunch. As for the fish I bought, a medium sized white fish was 80 pesos a kilo and small sardines about 50 pesos a kilo.

I made my way back without yielding to the temptation of hailing the readily available cabs and without jumping on a 5-peso combi. Packages in tow I arrived home.

One comment I have to make is that it is cold here especially in the winter during the morning. Wearing layers of clothing is the optimal way to dress so as the day gets warmer as the sun comes out you just start removing what you do not need.

I will post pictures very soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb